To wait, or not to wait?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RudyGrow, Dec 12, 2009.

1. RudyGrow macrumors regular

Alright, I'm a student and I've been saving up for a new MacBook Pro since June.

My parents agreed to pay the difference and taxes as a Christmas present. The only thing I'm not sure about is if I should get one for Christmas, or wait another month and go for the potential quad-core?

I really don't need the quad core, but there might be some smaller details on it that make me regret getting the one for Christmas.

I would be buying either a refurbished 15 inch or a brand new 13 inch in January.

So, what should I do?

2. fenderbass146 macrumors 65816

fenderbass146

im highly doubting quad core in 13" im guesing a bigger harddrive and a slightly faster cpu

3. anti_ macrumors member

anti_

sweet. i love it when someone asks the question I already had in mind on forums. so yeah, same question please. :D

alos, for kids on budgets less than 2k, how much better is the 15"er compared to the 13.3"

4. fenderbass146 macrumors 65816

fenderbass146

I would recommend getting the 13" refurbished then with the extra money you save ($200), you can upgrade it to a 500GB HD and 4GB of ram. This computer will be plenty for almost every application except maybe some really extreme gaming and video editing. But for most people a 13" is enough

5. OasisNYK macrumors 6502

Hardware wise I agree with you but screen real estate wise, if someone wants 15 then they should get 15.

6. Gabriel GR macrumors 6502a

Gabriel GR

If you think you'll need the 15 get it. If you're absolutely sure that you don't, get the 13.

I was wondering whether I should get another 13 or wait for the updates. I've now been enjoying my new 13" for 2 months and don't really care if it gets upgraded after christmas as I does all I need it to and some more.

7. anti_ macrumors member

anti_

and what of these 15"ers striping... LED to blame? and how common of a problem is it?