Toast 8 - Very slow at encoding... Alternatives?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by JoshFink, Sep 27, 2007.

  1. JoshFink macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    I'm new to the Mac so give me a little slack.

    Currently I pull shows off my Tivo as mpg's. Once I have the MPG's I've been dropping them into Toast to create DVD's. The problem is that Toast is extraordinarily slow. For an hour mpg it took me over an hour to encode and write to DVD.

    I'm using a 2.8ghz C2DE iMac with 4gb of Ram.

    Can someone recommend an application that would encode faster?

    Thanks

    Josh
     
  2. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Have you ever used it?
     
  4. JoshFink thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  5. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #6
    Which one? Regardless, yes, I have tried both...

    No problem at all, good luck! :)
     
  6. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #7
    It is slow because it needs to transcode your videos to MPEG-2 format.

    Whatever you do it will take some time to complete. I find Toast 8 to do a reasonable job of quality versus performance.

    Which ever application you choose will take some time because transcoding video is an extraordinarily CPU intensive task.
     
  7. JoshFink thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #8
    Wow... That just seems extremely slow. Plus, i could have sworn it was already in mpg2 format when I pulled it off my tivo (not from Toast).
     
  8. JoshFink thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #9
    Thanks... Visual Hub just converted it in 19 minutes.. A little faster.. :D

    Is there any way to do menu's and such in visual hub like it does in Toast?
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    Visual Hub doesn't do menus. You might want to make a copy of Visual Hub and run two instances of it.
     

Share This Page