iPhone Tocuh ID {App} Question - Discover Card Mobile App

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by boxermansr, Nov 7, 2014.

  1. boxermansr, Nov 7, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2014

    boxermansr macrumors 6502

    boxermansr

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #1
    Not sure if Discover updated their app recently, but I am no longer able to login using Touch ID - I can login with my 4 digit PIN or username and password, but it seems the ability to use touch id is gone. I know it was working about a month ago (last time I logged in to check balance, etc.) and now it's not -- only thing I can guess is that they either updated it and disabled it, or that because I'm jail broken the feature is now gone?

    If anyone else has the Discover Mobile app and can see if Touch ID still works, I'd appreciate it. If it's because I'm jail broken, I'm not going to worry, but Discover claims they haven't changed anything, so I'm just curious. Posted it here, as opposed to another section, so again, I'm not sure if this is related to the JB or not.

    Thanks!
     
  2. dknewton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    #2
    I'm experiencing the same thing. Just jailbroke two days ago. I've even deleted and re-installed the Discover app. No luck. It was working as recently as last week. Which leads me to believe it's because of jailbreaking.
     
  3. boxermansr thread starter macrumors 6502

    boxermansr

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #3
    Thanks. I figured as much. I'll test it out on my wife's non-jail broken device just to see if it does the same thing. If it works there and doesn't on a jail broken device, it won't be an end all for me. :/
     
  4. scotty588 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Location:
    Carlsbad, CA
    #4
    I can confirm this also. I jailbroke today and noticed the same thing. Discover app no longer has TouchID. It has to be the jailbreak.

    Another app called Yik Yak also has an option to protect "yaks and replies" with TouchID. I also lost this functionality after I jailbroke. Trying to re-enable it spits out an error "You need to be on an iOS 8.0+ and have touchID or a passcode enabled to protect your Yaks!". Something weird is definitely going on.
     
  5. scotty588 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Location:
    Carlsbad, CA
    #5
    After some research, I've found that the Discover Mobile app has jailbreak detection. If it detects you are jailbroken, TouchID is disabled. I'm guessing this is the same with the Amazon app and maybe Yik Yak. A user on /r/jailbreak found a fix for this by using Flex2. I haven't tested it myself yet since I've read of people having issues with Flex2 beta. Not sure if I want to risk it since it's not a huge deal.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/jailbreak/comments/2lfsc3/discover_mobile_app_touch_id_login_fix_for/
     
  6. navodwickra macrumors 6502

    navodwickra

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #6
    I don't use Dicovery or any other apps listed on this thread but it sounds really stupid of them. What's the point of disabling it if the device is jailbroken. No one can steal the touchID data from the security chip :confused:
     
  7. boxermansr thread starter macrumors 6502

    boxermansr

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #7
    Sweet, it worked. Thanks. Never used flex so took me a minute or two to figure it out. Ultimately the lack of Touch ID wasn't a big deal, but nice to know it can be re-enabled now.
     
  8. EDiTOR9 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Location:
    South Bay, CA
    #8
    This helped, thanks. Anyone know of a fix for Amazon?
     
  9. scotty588 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Location:
    Carlsbad, CA
    #9
    Try the same thing but for the Amazon app.
     
  10. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #10
    I am using the Discover App, I can not enter data into the username/password boxes.

    If I boot into SAFE MODE, then I can do it, then reboot, I will be able to login.

    If try to set up PASSCODE to use TOUCH ID, I can not enter a 4 digit code in the boxes.

    If I boot into SAFE MODE, I can, but when I reboot, and open Discover, it asks for the 4 digit code, at this point, I can not enter the code.

    I have tried, FLEX 2, XCON, TSProtect 8 and TSPROTECT P....They do not seem to help
     
  11. macsrcool1234 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #11
    Wow, as someone who has only ever been jailbroken, I never even realized the app had that capability. I've been sending emails suggesting it this whole time too!
     
  12. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #12
    Through the process of elimination, I found the problem to be ReachApp. I would have never suspected that to be the issue.
     
  13. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #13
    ReachApp developer

    I emailed the developer a couple days ago about the issue, although he did not reply to the email, he fixed the issue in a new update to ReachApp.
     

Share This Page