Tome Capsule & MacBook running slow

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jkeep, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. jkeep macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I have just bought a Time capsule.

    I am using a 2009 MacBook Pro running M L & my good lady
    has an older 13" MacBook (white) running S L.

    On my first backup it took about 6-8 hours but on my wifes
    MacBook it was about a quarter of the way through this morning
    after leaving it on overnight.

    I thought the wireless was supposed to be a lot faster than my
    normal WiFi router.

    Is this normal or do I need to change some settings?

    Many Thanks,

    Jeff
     
  2. laudern, Sep 19, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012

    laudern macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #2
    nah thats about normal..It's bloody slow no doubt about it. What I did was connect my time capsule via network cord to my laptop and did my initial backup that way.

    But now I do my backups usually once a week and its around 30gigs each time and that usually takes all day
     
  3. jkeep thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #3
    OK, but why should the macbook be 75% slower
    than my macbook pro?

    Cheers,

    Jeff
     
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #4
    On the MacBook, do you run Windows in either Fusion, Parallels or Virtualbox?
     
  5. Mike in Kansas macrumors 6502a

    Mike in Kansas

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Kansas City
    #5
    Your Time Capsule has b/g/n wireless capability. Your MBP will probably be connecting at "n" - which would be 150 - 300 mbps speed. Your wife's older Macbook may only have b/g capability, which would connect at 54mbps, so possibly significantly slower. Also, how much data is on your HDD vs. hers? If she has more data, then it will take longer! ;)
     
  6. jkeep thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #6
    how do I know if it is b/g/n or n?
    My mac has about twice as much on the HD
     
  7. Mike in Kansas macrumors 6502a

    Mike in Kansas

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Kansas City
    #7
    On ML if you Option-click on the Airport icon in your menu bar, it brings up a lot of info about your network and how you are connected. It will show you the type of network you are on (802.11 b, g, or n) and also give you a transmit rate among other things (I am on an "n" network and my transmit rate is 270Mbps).

    I'm not sure if this feature existed in SL or not; but at the very least you can go into the Apple menu and dive into "About This Mac", and look in the More Info section and see what is listed under Network>wifi. It will tell you the type of Airport card, what networks it can connect to (b/g/n) and also show you what networks and speeds it sees.
     

Share This Page