TomTom app also having GPS signal issues

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by m3coolpix, Aug 18, 2009.

  1. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #1
    Just checking in on it's second day of reviews on iTunes, and it appears as if TomTom's app has the same problem of GPS sensitivity issues. :eek:

    Anyone here having the problem?
     
  2. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #2
    I got it late last night and am about to make a 40 minute trip. I will report here my experience when I come back. Wish me luck!
     
  3. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #3
    I think it's tomtom trying to rip people off by making them think they need a cradle though some people are just plain thick and forget the phone needs a clear view of the sky.
     
  4. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #4
    I agree. And all the other nav companies are in on it!
    :rolleyes:
     
  5. ddrueckhammer macrumors 65816

    ddrueckhammer

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Location:
    America's Wang
    #5
    Hum, it works great for me... Even in a case...

    I bet since Google Maps doesn't require a view of the sky, most people are too clueless to realize that they have to keep the phone on their dash for it to work correctly.
     
  6. vettori macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Italy, near Venice
    #6
    From a developer point of view I can say that all GPS apps should use the same GPS signal info.
    So it can't be a TomTom or Navigon issue since both apps reads the same GPS info from the iPhone hardware.
     
  7. boxstboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #7
    Exactly. The hardware is feeding the same coordinate information to all programs, right? I swear the most of all the signal problems are from people who have never used a GPS before and think they can keep it in their pocket and get a clear signal.

    It's not a cell signal, it needs line of sight to the satellites!!!
     
  8. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #8
  9. vettori macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Italy, near Venice
    #9
    Correct !
     
  10. RiceRacerDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #10
    I bought my TomTom app a few hours after it came out. I have since used it at least 5 times...twice for my 150 mile round trip to school (no joke), twice in the city, and once to test it out initially the night of.

    My drive to and from school is all back country roads and both times, I never had an issue. It kept me on lock and when I didn't want to turn where it told me to, it re-routed me in about 2-3 seconds.

    The times that I've used it in the city, I began having signal lock problems. It only seemed to occur in areas of congestion (traffic) and also in areas where there were many roads around you (large intersections along the interstate highway). Otherwise I never had a problem.



    I will note that the GPS when using the Google Maps app does pin my location correctly and reflects the same behavior as mentioned above (city and school routes). I will also note that in Google Maps, when you initially pin your location, it finds you, then zooms in, it locates me accurately with JUST the blue dot.....however, if I zoom in even once more than the default zoom, it shows a blue circle around my location which does not resolve no matter where I am or the circumstances.

    It never did this with my 3G running pre 3.0...just my 3GS. It also never did this while running pre 3.0 software....just on 3.0 only (same GPS results when I upgraded my 3G to 3.0 as well).
     

Share This Page