TomTom App Voices?

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by Natesac, May 6, 2010.

  1. Natesac macrumors 6502a

    Natesac

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas,Tx
    #1
  2. Jelsoft Sux macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    #2
    TomTom would have to release a separate app with the desired voice in place. There is no way it can be added later like the standalone devices.
     
  3. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #3
    As an iPhone developer, I'm pretty sure such a thing is possible, via the in-app purchase mechanism. What makes you believe there is no way?
     
  4. Natesac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Natesac

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas,Tx
    #4
    TomTom if you are reading this, I have money in hand to pay you for the awesome power to be guided by the dark lord.
     
  5. sinsin07 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #5
  6. Natesac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Natesac

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas,Tx
  7. Natesac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Natesac

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas,Tx
    #7
    So I tried it out. works great with iphonebrowser and a jailbreak. however the voice packs available for free are "ok" and the good ones like the real darth vader are like $13. plus the "premium" voices are kinda goofy. they overdid the Darth Vader voice by adding too much to the "script"
     
  8. ikarib macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #8
    Premium TomTom Voices for iPhone

    To install Premium TomTom Voices for iPhone, follow these steps:
    1. Jailbreak and install OpenSSH on iPhone.
    2. Download Easyusetools
    3. Using WinSCP or iPhoneBrowser, copy TomTom executable app file to ttsystem_Patcher folder in Easyusetools
    For example, the US-Canada file is located here:
    /var/mobile/Applications/5608DDAB-557D-4A52-8D9B-FE0FF6E68461/US-Canada.app/US-Canada
    3. Patch US-Canada by running:
    "patchydg.exe US-Canada"
    The result should be: "ok. v8Patch Applied"
    4. Replace this file back where it was and change its permissions to 755 by pressing F9 in WinSCP.
    5. Download Premium_TomTom_Voices_for_iPhone.zip and copy voices folder to iPhone. The voices are already patched.
    6. Run TomTom twice after first crash.

    Enjoy! :cool:
     
  9. Grayburn macrumors 68000

    Grayburn

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    Cheers :)

    Will try installing Darth Vader or Yoda this way tonight.

    BTW will this work with the UK-Ireland version of TomTom?
     
  10. Mrtmcfly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #10
    Additional Voices patching

    Can anyone tell me how to patch the voice files?? I realize these ones are already patched but I am trying to get Bugs Bunny and Yosemite Sam to work on the iPhone

    Thanks
     
  11. king1199 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #11
    I have TomTom 1.6 on my iphone 4 and i'm trying to patch the voices, but for some reason i can't run Patchydog.exe, The CMD windows comes up but instantly closes, What am i doing wrong?

    And i have 3 extra voices i would like to add to my phone, how can i patch those voice?
     
  12. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #12
    Damn, I'm going to have to check this out. Thanks for mentioning.
     
  13. macattackpro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    #13
    I've downloaded the voices and SSH'd them to the voices folder but they're not available to me in the app. I didn't patch my map because Easyusetools asks for a Device ID and I didn't know what to put in there. Is that required? What am I missing? :confused:
     

Share This Page