TomTom US Update: 1.3 Available Now

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by dhy8386, Mar 12, 2010.

  1. dhy8386 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #1
    Downloading. Curious on everyones thoughts given this is a major update. Will post screenshots and thoughts tomorrow.
     
  2. RiceRacerDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #2
    Btw since there was no light shed on this, the update includes things such as automatic day/night mode, real-time traffic, auto music fading, map update, and more!
     
  3. swiftbmx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #3
    does anyone know how much the real time traffic in app purchase is?
     
  4. cavemonkey50 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    #4
    Right now there is only a $20/year option, but TomTom mentioned traffic can be purchased on a daily basis. So, I'm assuming TomTom just has to flip the switch tomorrow or Monday to add the other traffic options. The late night update probably caught them off guard.

    I've been playing with the update a bit (haven't had a chance for road testing), and I'm extremely impressed. Besides the stuff mentioned in the release notes, here's what I've found new so far:

    - New slicker navigating interface with dedicated music button.
    - The zoom buttons are gone in favor of pinch to zoom.
    - Option to have voice volume a percentage of the music volume (finally us car kit owners can control the direction volume!).
    - New TTS voice Tom (computer).
    - Certain POIs now have logos like Navigon.
    - Non-Google POI search now searches as you type.
    - Main menu now features a TomTom News section (although it's still an ad for the car kit).
     
  5. Steven Jackson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    Lincoln, U.K.
    #5
    Can someone please post the US$ prices, as the UK prices seem to be very much higher than $20/year!

    £0.59 for 1 day.
    £4.99 for 1 month.
    £11.49 for 3 months.
    £37.99 for 1 year.

    UK shafted again?

    Steve.
     
  6. RiceRacerDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #6
    As is stands now, there is only one option which is $20/12 months. You might take into consideration that the UK has a better traffic management system in place. I heard the cameras in the UK read license plates and remembers them so that it can see how long that particular car takes to get to the next traffic camera and does this with several cars to come to an accurate average. I didn't even know we could use TomTom traffic HD. I'm assuming that our information will be no better than Google maps traffic with the addition of text notifications? If anyone gets the traffic option for US, post ur experiences with it. Include where u used it too.

    Edit: They only cover 102 US markets. See if your area is covered by clicking here: http://www.tomtom.com/services/service.php?id=44&tab=28
     
  7. Becordial macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #7
    Does anyone know if lane guidance is improved? I love the navigon lane look, but hope tomtom has made their's nice and clear too.
     
  8. rotlex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    PA
    #8
    Downloading now, and REALLY happy about this release. I'm a 3G owner, and moved back to Tomtom a while ago after coming to the realization that Navigon does just not function satisfactorily on my 3G.

    I'm hoping these updates do not hinder Tomtom's performance on a 3G, but it is going to be a while until this download completes, and I do the install. Anyone have any quick input on this? Please don't tell me the added features are going to take menu\usage performance down the same path as Navigon. (I'm hoping this is not the case, but still worried, LOL).
     
  9. nashmills macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #9
    After I installed the update TomTom was VERY SLOW. I tuned the phone off and back on again and it's fine now.
     
  10. RiceRacerDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #10
    Well considering that the update is 1.4GB, it would be healthy for the install if you restarted your iPhone anyway. This update makes it seem like everything runs smoother.
     
  11. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #11
    Well, at least for one particular street that I drive on, it still doesn't show on the 1.3 map and the road has been there for a couple years. Navigon has it, Google Maps has it, but I guess Tom Tom is a bit behind the times!

    Otherwise, I agree it looks like TomTom is finally getting closer to being as good as Navigon.
     
  12. rotlex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    PA
    #12
    Answering my own question just for reference. Finished the download, installed, rebooted phone, and tested. LOVING IT! Runs as smoothly as any built in app on a 3G, new features are GREAT, and I'm now extremely happy I decided to go with it over Navigon as my primary GPS app. :)
     
  13. cavemonkey50 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    #13
    Somewhat. While those 102 markets will have the best traffic information, the traffic option also pulls data from other connected TomTom users. I am seeing incidents on the map not covered by one of the 102 markets.
     
  14. Maverickster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    #14
    Solid update. Brings it pretty much in line with what it should've been at launch (this is coming from a guy who bought the app for $99 the day it was released, then bought the car kit separately for the $120, so I have a little $$ sunk into it).

    Biggest upgrades to me are the traffic info and the ability to set the relative volume of the voice guidance vis-a-vis the iPod.

    My one remaining gripe is that THE LINE-OUT ON THE CAR KIT IS STILL SET TO FULL BLAST WITH NO ABILITY TO ADJUST IT!!!!!!! This causes some obvious distortion issues. When I questioned TomTom Tech Support on it prior to this release, I was told "we're aware of the issue; it will be corrected in the next update". Shocker....it wasn't. Time to call again, I guess. This is a seriously annoying bug to those of us who use the line-out feature on the Car Kit.

    Aside from that fundamental problem which was not corrected, pretty happy with the update.

    --Mav
     
  15. yogi477 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Location:
    England
    #15
    After this update, all of a sudden I have no sound through the app, has anyone else had this problem?

    Also, the traffic is a rip off compared to $20 in the US.
     
  16. bndoarn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #16
    Am I missing something or is the live traffic only for the iPhone? I have the TomTom app for my iPod touch and I can not find out where to buy the live traffic update.
     
  17. cavemonkey50 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    #17
    No, you're not missing anything. The traffic is not an option for the iPod touch due to lack of a constant data service. While technically traffic could be downloaded via WiFi before navigating (or even using something like a MiFi), TomTom opted to exclude traffic on the iPod touch.

    My guess is they wanted to avoid people complaining, since traffic information is something that really can change from minute to minute, and doesn't do too well with only a one-time update before navigating.
     
  18. Vinny1967 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #18
    Am I missing something - does the HD traffic AUTOMATICALLY re-route or not?
    Tried it on the route demo and it DOES NOT automatically re-route.

    You have to press the coloured car symbol on the top right, select the traffic incident on the scroll bar, and then select minimise delays.
    This is not ideal if you are driving.

    Has anyone managed to get it to automatically re-route?
     
  19. aberg83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #19
    I'm having trouble location the traffic option in the app. Isn't it supposed to be an in-app purchase? Might it be because I'm using the Canada-Alaska version of the app and not the full blown north america version? I got the update yesterday but see nothing relating to traffic. Any help is appreciated.
     
  20. lordhamster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #20
    According to the admin over at gpsreview it DOES automatically re-route if it thinks the re-route will be faster.

    So far I have to say the traffic data appears more complete than that in Navigon. Now that TomTom has finally added the traffic, I think that I can replace Navigon as my main Nav app. I really prefer the interface in TomTom.

    1. It can correctly parse all my addresses... Navigon doesn't
    2. Traffic Info is more complete. If it saves me from just one 30 min traffic jam it has paid for itself.
    3. I can choose to avoid a road on my route (Navigon can't).
    4. It correctly displays ETAs in 24 hour time.
     
  21. RiceRacerDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #21
    I purchased the live traffic option and started to browse the map. Firstly, I'm in the Tulsa area and when I browse the map of the Oklahoma region, it works perfectly, displaying everything from Tulsa to Oklahoma City and all the highways of the state too. However, the minute I browse outside of the state, it does not show traffic. I tried to browse the Dallas area for traffic, and it didn't show anything. It is impossible that traffic, road maintenance, and construction are all nonexistent in Dallas at 2:02 PM. I know that is absolutely false. Same issue occurs with the Los Angeles area and New York City area. No matter what zoom level I use, nothing shows up. I think it only shows your state when you are simply browsing the map without a set destination, possibly to save your device the headache of downloading everything, but the least it could do is update on request when browsing to a different location. A manual refresh option would have been a nice work around for this problem.

    See attached pictures for example...

    Edit: note the 10% drop in battery 17 minutes fwiw. This is from keeping TomTom open and switching back and forth from this app and dropbox to bring these pictures to you.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. sfditty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    #22
    I agree, TomTom will be replacing Navigon as my go to nav app as well. IMHO, it does almost everything better than Navigon, including traffic, lane assist, UI while driving, most likely smart routing (Navigon hasn't released theirs yet, but I don't expect it to be better than IQ Routes). There are still two areas where Navigon is much better, and I hope TomTom improves these in a future update:

    1) iPod music integration. TomTom's integration is one step above useless, while Navigon's is fantastic.

    2) Adding waypoints, i.e. multiple destinations along the route. Navigon does this very well, but it practically doesn't exist in TomTom. You have to chose an alternate route after the initial route is planned, then use the "travel via..." option to add the intermediate destination. If you try to add a second waypoint, it replaces the first.
     
  23. Vinny1967 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #23
    Totally agree with the above.

    The only things keeping TomTom from being my sole nav app are:

    1. I still get thrown into the middle of nowhere every now and again. I also end up being placed on adjacent roads to the one I'm actually driving on.

    2. Roundabouts are a problem with TomTom: the GPS lag is still there so on the larger roundabouts I have to make sure that I know which exit I'm leaving at before I get on them.

    3. This is a biggy for me. Although the menu system on TomTom is VASTLY superior and prettier than MobileNavigator, the TomTom navigation view is pig ugly. No matter how much I want to like the 1.3 TomTom, it still comes down to the fact that it looks like it's running on a Commodore 64.

    I must point out that that I do not own the TomTom cradle, nor will I ever get one. I do however appreciate that owning one would possibly fix points 1 and 2 above
     
  24. ptackbar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #24
    I've got to say that I'm amazed at how much better the traffic information is through TomTom's app compared to Navigon's. Navigon only shows me traffic information for interstate highways and very rarely.

    TomTom shows me vastly more incidents and information. Anyone know why there is such a large difference?
     
  25. wacky4alanis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #25
    There is a new setting that allows you to adjust the audio level of the voice commands. You can find it under Settings->Audio. This was one of the first things I changed after the update. Are you talking about the audio levels from the iPod itself? If so , then you're right - there is no way to reduce that level as far as I know. The only thing the new setting changes is the level of the audio commands from the Tom Tom app itself. If the audio levels from the iPod are too high for your stereo system, then I guess the only option would be to use your headphone jack output instead of the car-kit audio connection. The level on mine seems perfect for my Honda Accord's stereo. It sounds amazing!
     

Share This Page