TomTom works on iPad 3G

Discussion in 'iPad Apps' started by bosox2009, May 1, 2010.

  1. bosox2009 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    #1
    It works... I just tried it. The app apparently thinks the device is an iPod Touch as it displays this message on launch, "Connect to GPS To enable route guidance you need to connect your iPod to an accessory GPS device. We recommend the TomTom car kit."

    Hit continue and go. I cannot say whether or not the data plan is required... I have it.

    And it is snappy for sure. Looks ok at double size. Maybe I'll duct tape the iPad to my steering wheel? :D
     
  2. AJsAWiz macrumors 68040

    AJsAWiz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Well you may not be able to use your iPad while driving but if you have a passenger you could hand the iPad to them. They could navigate for you.
     
  3. bosox2009 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    #3
    Exactly. The perfect tool for your copilot. GPS was spot-on in my low-density test drive.
     
  4. fithian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Eastern PA
    #4
    Tomtom on iPad 3G

    It seemed to work ok on wifi. The traffic function was not available on wifi. Need to check if it works with 3g on.
     
  5. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #5
    Or, you could use something like this.
     
  6. NateEssex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #6
    I was happy to see it worked too, and no issue with licensing ;)
     
  7. nerdo, May 8, 2011
    Last edited: May 8, 2011

    nerdo macrumors regular

    nerdo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    #7
    Just used tom tom to navigate allover the place. Very accurate and much faster then using the iPhone 4 + GPS. The GPS looses location and signal all the time (using original Tomtom iPhone4 holder) no problems at all with the ipad2.

    going to buy a iPad2 holder for car :)
     
  8. haruhiko, May 8, 2011
    Last edited: May 8, 2011

    haruhiko macrumors 601

    haruhiko

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    #8
    The iPad 2 has exceptionally better GPS reception than the iPhone 4.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. zelduh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    #9
    GPS does not work on 3G without data plan.

    A data plan IS required! Such a bummer! I would not have paid so much for my iPad 2 had I known that I could not use the GPS without a data plan.

    I would really like to use GPS, but I don't wanna pay for a data plan. :(

    Does anyone know if there is a app for using GPS without a data plan??? :confused:
     
  10. dmk1974 macrumors 68020

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #10
    I use Navigon on my 3G iPad1. Works fine without data, but you just don't get traffic updates (if you need it).
     

Share This Page