Too Many Processes

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Jacob1447, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. Jacob1447 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #1
    Recently I've noticed that my macbook's performance hasn't been so great. I opened activity monitor and sure enough there was a huge list of active processes. Is it normal to have that many things running? If not what are the ones I should get rid of and how? The screenshots of activity monitor were all taken immediately after logging in and opening activity monitor. Thanks


    Jacob
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    I think you forgot to attach the screen shots...
     
  3. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #3
    Sure some could likely be killed, but know what you're doing before you kill it. Additionally, what may seem like a lot to you is likely nothing for the system. I've never heard of anyone claiming that too many processes were killing a box. Likely, it is a few processes using too much CPU or I/O time.
     
  4. Jacob1447 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #4
    Sorry forgot to add the attachments
     

    Attached Files:

  5. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #5
    I'm not seeing much of anything wrong here, except one process confuses me:

    GarageSaleHelper

    I googled and learned this is a widget. You might check your widgets to see if you can eliminate some of them. Another one is "SIMBL Agent". I'm guessing you have installed many apps trying to customize the living daylights out of the OS. This type of behavior will drag any OS down the hill.
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    Those processes seem okay, as Mac OS X and any other OS run a lot of processes in the background anyway and each doesn't consume more than 0.1% CPU power anyway.

    Next time sort by CPU usage and see what process might hog up the CPU.

    Btw, how much GB of how much GB is left on your HDD?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #7
    It could be disk I/O as well slowing it down, which doesn't show on that particular screen.
     
  8. Jacob1447 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #8
    Yeah that's the problem I've downloaded tons of add-ons and apps that run in the background that I eventually don't use and forget about. The SIMBL Agent has something to do with Greasekit, a Safari version of Greasemonkey for Firefox.
     
  9. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #9
    Honestly, you may spend more time cleaning up than reinstalling. I'd backup, reinstall, and go from there.
     
  10. seb-opp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    London/Norwich
    #10
    don't worry about the number of processes, the average user isn't expected to have to look at activity monitor anyway. Lots of processes are background ones, and its perfectly normal to have lots running!

    what you could do is have a look through your start up items and widgets and remove any that you don't use often. Another thing could be looking under sharing in system prefs and remove any shared items that you don't use, e.g. if you have windows file sharing on but never actually use it, turn it off.
     
  11. Jacob1447 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #11
    I have a 500gb HDD with 214GB free. I mean it's not extremely slow just slower than it should be. When I log into another account that I rarely use the list of active processes is much smaller and it runs faster. The big problem that I solved a while ago was a huge list of login items. But yeah only about ten or so processes are using even 0.1 CPU. Just seemed like a long list to me especially since the other account has no where near as much.
     
  12. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #12
    You are also getting page-outs, which means you are paging to disk (aka swapping). It's not necessarily bad, but something to look at.
     

Share This Page