Top-line iMac or base-line Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by bpeeps, May 6, 2011.

1. bpeeps macrumors 68020

bpeeps

Top-line iMac or base-line Mac Pro?

Hey guys, I'm a video editor that works mostly with RED footage in Final Cut Pro and After Effects. I'm also a gamer running Bootcamp and Steam. I'm currently working on a 3 year old Macbook Pro and looking to upgrade by the end of the year. Here are my choices, I'm wondering if a new top of the line iMac will outperform the current base model of the Mac Pros for gaming and video work... or if the Mac Pro is the way to go.

27" iMac
    3.4ghz Quad-Core i7
    2TB Serial ATA HD
    AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2GB
    $2,304 (Student)

Mac Pro
    2.8ghz Quad-Core Xeon "Nehalem"
    2TB 7200 RPM HD
    ATI Radeon HD 5870 1GB
    $2,614 (Student w/ no display)

I plan on buying RAM (and Mac Pro display) elsewhere so I did not include it in the specs. Thoughts? :)

2. MacForScience macrumors 6502

MacForScience

No question Mac Pro this is the only solution for Video Editing. The Mac Pro will give you the expandability you will need it is a joke trying to do video editing at a pro level or using RED on an iMac. Get the Mac Pro and as you have money buy more drives (RAIDs), and RAM etc. You also give yourself the option of installing pro level capture cards. I will admit that the dual thunderbolt ports makes the issue less clear but not enough for me to alter the recommendation. You may consider waiting for the next gen mac pro with thunderbolt before buying if you want to play it safe.

Cheers

3. THX1139 macrumors 68000

THX1139