top spec air with 30" acd

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by mediamab, Jun 13, 2009.

  1. mediamab macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    In my struggle to decide what mac/a to get! As a phase1 option, how would the air work with a 30"acd? And how well? I am a web designer do I don't work with massive files or demand full power but I still want a smooth ride :) also would it play sims3?

    The second phase would be to add a mac pro to my setup in a year or so when I feel I need more and making use of the add

    Thanks for your advice :)
     
  2. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #2
    The ACD is old. Unless they update it I would get the Dell 3008WFP instead as it has a DisplayPort. So you just need a mini-DP->DP cable which is available now from 3rd party sellers. It also has a DL-DVI so you can hook up both your future Mac Pro and Air to it if need be.
     
  3. mediamab thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for the advice but personally I do prefer the 30"acd I'm jus more concerned about the air effectivly driving it and my work andcsims 3 :)
     
  4. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #4
    For $100 less than the top spec'd MBA, you could get the 15" MBP with a faster processor, twice as much RAM (with the ability to have up to four times as much), a bigger HD and a longer-lasting battery.

    Since I'm assuming ultra-portability isn't your number one concern, that might be the better way to go.

    For the same $1799, you could also go for the 2.93GHz, 24" iMac and not worry about an external monitor, or you could connect a second display and have a dual monitor setup.
     
  5. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #5
    I bought a 24" LED ACD to go with my rev B MBA - was a setup to die for! The speakers built in, camera, hub, and power for the MBA too was incredible. Not to mention the most beautiful ACD ever!

    It's too bad there isn't a 30" ACD with the same LED, hub, camera, speakers, and Mac power. Although LED baclighting would make the 30" ACD cost double according to pricing for other large LED backlit displays. I would buy one in a heartbeat for my new 2.13 MBA.

    Now, moving on to your question. I hooked my rev B 1.86/SSD up to a 30" ACD, used the Apple $100 mini display port to dual link adaptor. The output was incredible. Stunning that a little MBA can do all that! We watched an HD video for maybe 15 or 20 minutes, as was testing MBA to 30" ACD with HD output to see if it could. I was amazed. The guy who owned the ACD and dual link cable wasn't amazed cause he uses his MBA daily instead of Mac Pro with dual 30" ACDs... he fell in love with the MBA and stopped using MP except when absolutely had to run something huge.

    I think there have been some faulty dual link adaptors which have caused some problems and people blaming graphics. I haven't followed, but I think verdict was some faulty cables.

    I would still recommend the 24" ACD for its LED baclighting and other features that extremely benefit the MBA as a hopefully short term solution until Apple updates the 30" ACD.

    Good luck.
     
  6. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    :confused::confused::confused:

    Why on earth would you get an ultra portable if you're just going to dock it?


    What a waste on both ends. It's a waste for the Air because it will just be sitting on a desk, and a waste for a cinema display because it will be attached to the wimpy Air.
     
  7. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #7
    OR.....

    The best of both worlds if you alternate frequently between home work and on-the-go.

    Many people - myself included - hate the hassle of having to sync everything between two machines. This setup gives you an ultra-portable to travel with whilst retaining the amazing large display for comfort at home.
     
  8. Regaj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #8
    Sorry I can't add anything regarding the MBA and 30" ACD.

    I know you weren't asking about it, but I'd second Scottsdale's rec for the 24" LED ACD. Beyond the exceptional display itself, it complements the present line of Apple notebooks, including the Air, incredibly well. I expect we'll see an update to the 30" ACD to include those same features not too far down the road.
     
  9. hitekalex macrumors 68000

    hitekalex

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    #9
    3008WFP has nothing on ACD 30".. Old or not, ACD is a great display.

    What 3rd party sellers have mDP to DP adapters? As far as I know, they don't exist.
     
  10. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    Meh. To me a Macbook seems sturdier and I can do more work on it. And from stories I've heard the Macbook Air can be hard to get through airport security. So there goes the benefit of being ultra portable, if you're just going to get stopped for forty minutes in Hong Kong.
     
  11. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #11
    Can you share some of those stories? I've never had a problem getting through security at several large US airports with my MBA, but maybe I've just been lucky.
     
  12. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #12
    I know your airport security story to be total BS. I've been through airport security quite a bit with the air. I happen to believe that unless you have actual facts to back up your claim that you're just trolling.

    OP: I have seen a MB Air drive a 30" ACD fine. I cannot try as I do not have the proper cable. I do know it is possible but I'm not sure it can run the ACD at it's native resolution.
     
  13. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    Thanks Jessica! You're right, I spend my day on here just to be a troll. Sure my airport security story was a stretch, but it wasn't BS.

    Either way, I'm just saying I think it would be a waste for both the machine and the display. But I'm not one to judge the OP, s/he can spend the money however s/he sees fit. I would RECOMMEND that the OP pick up a new Macbook Pro (whatever size) and use that, just because I can see the Air getting very hot, and noisy powering such a big display.
     
  14. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #14
    The MBA with Nvidia 9400m can drive the 30" ACD's native resolution.

    I think the MBA is the perfect solution for a one Mac system as it's perfect on the go, and when plugged into an ACD, it becomes an instant desktop. With SSD, it's extremely fast and capable.

    I think for the business pro or even non-graphics type pros, the MBA is plenty powerful enough to be our sole/primary mac.
     
  15. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #15
    That's a travel story from nearly the day it was released. I am sure every airport is "aware" of the MBA now.

    My Air didn't get noisy or hot with a 30" ACD. Maybe your thought there is an original Air story too!
     
  16. stoconnell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Location:
    Rockville (Despite REM's plea.)
    #16
    You might poke around on monoprice.com as they seem to be expanding their mini displayport offerings. I have bought both the mDP-VGA and mDP-DVI adapters for my MBA. They have a mDP-HDMI and it looks like they have an extensions cable, but it's not clear if that's simply mDP-mDP or mDP-DP from the description.
     
  17. hodgeheg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #17
    Be aware that for any 30" display you need the dual link adaptor which, at least in the apple official flavour, requires a USB port to provide power. Since the Air only has one USB port, you need to take that into account.

    I don't know whether it does any kind of pass through, or whether it works on hubs. If the adaptor does work with a hub, then there's no problem. Also, the superdrive will definitely *not* work on a hub without modification (except the hub built into the 24" LED ACD), which as far as I can work out, leaves it impossible to use both the superdrive and a 30" external monitor simultaneously. If you don't want to, then that doesn't matter - Not trying to put you off! Just that this is worth mentioning in case it might affect your usage. If so, the 24" LED ACD may be a better bet.
     
  18. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #18
    Price drop for 30" ACD refurbished now $1299!

    Price drop for 30" ACD refurbished now $1299! The 24" LED ACD is now $699 refurbished!
     
  19. Santabean2000 macrumors 68000

    Santabean2000

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #19
    i'm another one who's going to recommend you buy a 24" ACD. Firstly I read somewhere, (sorry - I've lost the link), that productivity peaks on a display of this size. And secondly, I can't see the 30" getting a significant upgrade any time soon.
     

Share This Page