Topic : CPU Upgrade for 1st Generation Intel iMac? (Early 2006 20-inch)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lPHONE, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. lPHONE macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #1
    I have 2 questions:

    1) I have a 2.GHz Core Duo CPU. I read that this model has a socketed CPU that can be replaced. Is this true?
    2) If yes, how fast can I go? Can I use the new Core i3 CPU? \

    Thanks!
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    2.33GHz Core 2 Duo (T7600) is the highest for that model. It is socketed.
     
  3. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #3
    I don't know if it is socketed or not, someone else will have to answer that question.

    However, when it comes to CPU upgrades, you can fit ANY CPU that uses that socket, like an certain AMD CPUs on a Laptop PC will use a socket called S1, and you can only put AMD CPUs with that socket type in there. I'm sorry I didn't use a Intel Example, but they are harder to remember ;)

    Anyway, you can for sure upgrade to the highest speed Core Duo series processor, and maybe the Core 2 Duo if you're lucky. The i Series will not work, as the socket size is different.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Not true. Even though the socket was the same (BTW, T7200 uses Socket M which isn't as common as Socket P, thus T7600 is the best CPU available as mentioned above) the stepping can be different and the firmware in iMac may not support it.

    This is very well known with Mac Pros. 2009 and 2010 Mac Pros use the same LGA 1366 socket but Westmere CPUs use B1 stepping which didn't exist when 2009 Mac Pro was released, thus you cannot use the new Westmere CPUs in 2009 Mac Pro even though the socket is exactly the same. This applies to 2006/7 vs 2008 Mac Pros as well. The socket is LGA 711 in all machines but the steppings are different and Apple has not released a firmware update for older Mac Pros so they could use the newer CPUs.
     
  5. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #5
    Thanks! Is that because the T7600 is the Fastest Meron CPU and Meron is the highest my iMac can take?
     
  6. AppleZwei macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #6
    Don't waste your money. CPU upgrades are not supported.
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    T7600 isn't the fastest Merom but it is the fastest CPU that supports Socket M.

    Supported by what/who? :confused:
     
  8. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
    Its the fastest socket M cpu.

    It works. Many have done it, particularly on the mini. Its a very expensive way to upgrade your iMac, however. Better off selling the old iMac and buy a refurb or even a second hand one that's newer.
     
  9. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #9
    Hmm. Thanks for letting me know!
    I have more PC repair ex. (Comp TA A+) and I was using that info to help here. Guess it's not right, and thank for the new information!
     
  10. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #10
    And why would they?
    Apple's idea of an upgrade is to buy a new computer.
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    In PCs that doesn't matter because there is usually a BIOS update that adds support for new steppings. Unfortunately Apple is too greedy and bitchy so they force people to buy new Macs :(

    Exactly. It's just business, force people to buy new stuff
     
  12. TehEspaaK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #12
    pretty sure?

    yah im pretty sure that the T7600 isnt the only option? it may be the most commonly used but I was aware that the INTEL CORE 2 DUO EXTREME X7900 2.8 CPU worked aswell?

    I know it has been tried in the 2nd Gen Intel iMac but the 1G and 2G have the same chipset? it should technically work...
     

Share This Page