Torn between cMBP and MBA 2013

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by katcakess, Jun 23, 2013.

1. katcakess macrumors newbie

I'm undecided about what to get. My choices are the non-retina MBP and the newly announced MBA. I'm a teacher / online grad student and I don't really do gaming (only when I feel like it and besides I have an iPad).

I use my computer mainly for office applications, some music, movie watching, video streaming, and some downloading (rarely).

The upgradeability of a non retina MBP sounds very promising for the future but the portability and speed of an MBA is a major advantage. The non-upgradeability of the MBA is a turn off for for me while the weight of MBP is too much for me.

Do you think it's also necessary to upgrade RAM and memory drive for whatever macbook I choose?

I'd like this laptop to last for a long time like at least 5 years. Do Macs last that long? This is my first mac btw.

Thanksss!

2. racer1441 macrumors 68000

Get the 13 inch Macbook air, and use your education discount to upgrade to 8gb of memory.

You'll be fine.

3. filmbuff macrumors 6502a

filmbuff

If you're into the retro craze and like old fashioned technology, by all means get the cMBP.

4. mattferg macrumors 6502

Go for the Air. You don't need the disk drive, and the MBA has the faster graphics, better battery life, better screen and is much lighter.

5. Mrbobb macrumors 601

At some point you gotta buy what makes u happy instead of trying to hedge everything. I really want the convertible, but what if I have to pick up some lumbers at Home Depot? :eek: (answer u rent a Uhaul)

Buy a maxed out Air, skip the 512GB SSD because everybody think it's too expensive.

Done.

6. adiddas125 macrumors member

Just buy a MBA 13 or 11". If you get either, I suggest you buy a 24" display and apple wireless keyboard and mouse (for the home setup).