Toshiba Canvio 1tb into Macbook Pro early 2011 is possible?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rafaelgimenes, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. rafaelgimenes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    #1
    Hi,
    Let me try explain the scenario:

    Recently I bought the SSD OCZ Agility 3 120GB, to replace the original HItach 320GB 5400.

    This hard drive is only to S.O, I bought to on e-bay a adapter to replace superdriver to second Hard Drive(http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230602670945&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT), I'm from Brazil and its will come here in 2 months..

    Mean while for I can install the OCZ, I did think in buy a TOSHIBA CAVIO 1tb 5400 External equal this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822149191

    And use it while my adapter of opitbay not come in brazil.

    The ideia is disassembly the Toshiba Canvio and put it on optibay adapter

    but I not have sure if the size of HD of Canvio is compatible with the
    macbook, is it possible: Open the Toshiba Cambio, take out the HD 2.5 and install it on macbook pro?

    thanks in advance.
     
  2. Maschil macrumors 6502a

    Maschil

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #2
    are you just looking for a 1tb hard in general to use in your mac?????
     
  3. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #3

    The only problem with you plan is that the Toshiba drive may be 12.5mm you need 9.5mm.

    I heavily recommend this drive for your needs: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822152291&Tpk=samsung 1tb
     
  4. Maschil macrumors 6502a

    Maschil

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #4
  5. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #5
    the HDD bay will take a 12.5mm drive, but the optibay will not.
     
  6. rafaelgimenes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    #6
    Well if anyone can confirm it for me...
     

Share This Page