Total Newbie - advice please

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MACfemme, Oct 24, 2012.

1. MACfemme macrumors newbie

Hi all,

So I bought an Air back in 2010, but during delivery my school decided that we all had to purchase laptops from them. So I ended up returning it.

So now I'm ready for my first 13". I realize people have already asked this question, but the terms are a little too technical for me to understand.

I'm deciding between the 128GB MBA, 256GB MBA, OR the 128GB rMBP. Money isn't abundant, but I keep hearing ppl say 128GB isn't enough.

I mainly surf the net, watch movies, play a few games here and there, and study. I'd love to start editing some personal pics too. I can use the edu pricing so that'll help a little.

Thanks and please help

2. Rizzm macrumors 6502a

Unless you NEED/LOVE the retina screen then go with the Air. There's hardly a difference otherwise. Storage needs are up to you. I'd say 256GB is a good standard for a single computer setup.

3. MACfemme thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks Rizzin,

Yes it will be my only computer, and I really dont need the retina display. I'm not a techie, but am sick of my PC crashing. So the $300 to the 256 is generally worth it is its my sole computer?

:)

4. clyde2801 macrumors 601

clyde2801

Go look at the cMBP 13" and decide if you can live with the "old" screen, size and weight. If you can live with the bigger but slower HDD, great! If not, you can put in a 2.5 SSD (which are constantly coming down in price) and use the included HDD as external storage. Or, you can pull out the optical drive (and put it in an external enclosure) and use an optibay solution to simultaneously put your OS and apps on an SSD and file storage on the HDD.