Total noob, jailbreak ip4 4.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by speedytobey, Oct 21, 2010.

1. speedytobey macrumors newbie

I have been thinking about jailbreaking and unlocking my ip4 but was never confident enough to do it. I am confused about the steps and what software to get and what files to save first. ex. shsh blob and firmware version mumbo jumbo. What are the steps to jailbreak and unlock a ip4 4.1? thanks

i have jailbreak iphone 2g before but now it seems to be more complicated.
    another question is..... i still have the ip2g but updated to 3.1.x. i m stuck in itunes activation screen. how do i activate it without itunes and then jailbreak it?

2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

You cannot unlock an i4 on 4.1
    Just JB it. You can use either pwnage, limerain or green poison.

3. speedytobey thread starter macrumors newbie

so no need to save shsh? which tool is better? i m on a mac

thanks

4. Barneygumble47 macrumors regular

Always save your shsh blobs you never know when you might need them.

download and use tiny umbrella.

5. speedytobey thread starter macrumors newbie

1st run tiny save shsh and then jailbreak? should i backup my current phone on itunes first?

6. Barneygumble47 macrumors regular

Yes back up first the save shsh then JB. You can use either JB tool I used limera1n simply because it was first out.

7. speedytobey thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks, now what about after jb, back up and sync as you would normally on itunes? if i want to revert, just do a full restore and sync with the original backup? and then sync again to get the app data from after the jb?

can anyone answer my ip 2g question? i want to jb that sucker too

8. Barneygumble47 macrumors regular

Yes but if you want to back up your JB apps and settings from cydia I suggest you use Pkgbackup.

I have no idea about your other prob.

9. pectin232 macrumors 6502