OS X Total War settings on imac Retina?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by jerwin, Jun 28, 2015.

  1. jerwin, Jun 28, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2015

    jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #1
    My sister is a roman history buff. She bought Rome II Total War on Steam (it was on sale!!!), and attempted to run it on her lowly macbook, only to discover that the fans ramped up, making it unenjoyable to play.

    So now, I've tried playing it

    I have a 3.5 Ghz i5, and a m290x graphics card. My first thoughts upon playing the game were-- wow, these graphics are super crappy. So I began to maximize my graphics settings.


    STUPID STUPID STUPID

    my mac began to crawl, at 7 frames a second. And then it began to hang.

    control command eject time.
    Taking a more sensible, and incremental approach, I started to benchmark at what I thought might be appropriate settings, toggling things on and off to see if the framerate rose dramatically, or alas, dropped.

    And then, it began to hang.

    control command eject
    Since control command eject is hardly a recommended routine, I'd thought I'd ask here...

    Given a machine of my specs, what settings are appropriate, and which will cause instability?
     
  2. Oudinot macrumors regular

    Oudinot

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL USA
    #2
    It ran fine on my 2008 Mac Pro and then my late 2013 iMac. You should be able to get minimum spec from game itself. If Rome II doesn't work well for her go to Feral Interactive and get Rome I. I played it for years and always found it fun. Rome II was a bust for most TW fans. Much hype too much left out.
     
  3. jerwin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #3
    I'll look into Rome I.

    Frankly twiddling with graphics settings did little to assuage the essential uglinesss of the game.
     
  4. Oudinot macrumors regular

    Oudinot

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL USA
    #4
    If you think Rome II is ugly then it is unlikely you will enjoy any of the Total War games. I don't understand your comment however, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.
     
  5. jerwin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #5
    So the soldiers look like emaciated zombies in every version of this game? Good to know. Good to know.
     
  6. Oudinot macrumors regular

    Oudinot

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL USA
    #6
    No they don't. Perhaps your computer/graphics card couldn't handle the game properly and therefore your graphics were distorted. Whatever you have should be able to handle Rome I so you might find a demo version available however, the game is pretty inexpensive today.
     
  7. jerwin, Jul 15, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2015

    jerwin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #7
    Screen Shot.png so what are your settings, and what are your framerates on the forest benchmark?

    This is mine on very high, 1080p with distortion turned off.

    The draw distnace seems more than little off-- details suddenly pop into view. It's a bit jarring.
     
  8. Oudinot macrumors regular

    Oudinot

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL USA
    #8
    The following are the system requirements (if your graphics card is a Radeon HD 2000 series it is not supported):

    System Requirements
    Hide System Requirements -
    Turn on Mac Match now to instantly find out if this game will run on your Mac. No more reading System Requirements. Ever.

    Turn Mac Match On
    System Profile Your Computer Minimum Requirements
    Operating System: Turn on Mac Match OS X 10.7.5
    Processor: Turn on Mac Match Intel Core i5
    Number of cores: Turn on Mac Match 2
    Processor Speed: Turn on Mac Match 1.7 GHz
    Memory: Turn on Mac Match 4 GB
    Hard Disk Space: Turn on Mac Match 25 GB
    Video Card

    Turn on Mac Match
    AMD Radeon HD 4850, NVidia GeForce 640 or Intel HD 4000 with 512 MB of Video Memory
    Other Requirements
    Please be aware that the Mac App Store version of Total War: ROME II – Emperor Edition does not feature any multiplayer functionality, or the ability to purchase additional DLC content or install user-created modifications.

    Unsupported graphics chipsets for Mac: NVidia GeForce 9 series, GeForce 300 series, GeForce Quadro series, AMD Radeon HD 4000 series, Radeon HD 2000 series

    https://www.gameagent.com/games/total-war-rome-ii-emperor-edition
     
  9. jerwin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #9
    This is the kind of thing that I was looking for:

    http://forums.totalwar.com/showthre...sis-Guide-of-Graphic-Performance-vs.-Settings

    with tips such as "turn off the grass and shadows, leave everything else on high, or extreme."

    As I may have mentioned, I was coming from my experience of running "Company of heroes" which can be run on ultra settings, at 5K on my mac, though I usually run it at 1440p. (and it looks bloody brilliant).
     
  10. Oudinot macrumors regular

    Oudinot

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL USA
  11. Eightarmedpet macrumors regular

    Eightarmedpet

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Location:
    London's famous London
    #11
    How are you finding the retina iMac for gaming in general?
     
  12. jerwin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #12
    I've only really been playing two games on it:

    Tropico 5: 1440p medium.

    Company of Heroes: 1440p ultra-- playable at 2880p ultra, but the visual improvements are miniscule.

    I had planned to start getting my ass kicked in Elite Dangerous, but I don't have the time.
     

Share This Page