TotalFinder Replacement?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by legaleye3000, Jun 18, 2015.

  1. legaleye3000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #1
    I need the "folders on top" feature of TotalFinder, but it doesn't work with 10.11. Anyone recommend a replacement that has a "folders on top" feature? Thanks!
     
  2. w0lf, Jun 18, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2015

    w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Step 1: Turn off rootless
    Step 2: Open terminal
    Step 3: Paste this in and press return
    Code:
    sudo /usr/libexec/PlistBuddy -c "Set Folder \" Folder\"" /System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/InfoPlist.strings; killall Finder
    Step 4: Open Finder
    Step 5: Command + J
    Step 6: Sort (or Arrange) By > Kind

    To undo this:
    Code:
    sudo /usr/libexec/PlistBuddy -c "Set Folder \"Folder\"" /System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/InfoPlist.strings; killall Finder
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
  4. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #4
    I'll try the instructions up above.

    Regarding the beta, the Folders on Top feature is disabled. Also, the dev stated that he doesn't believe that the feature will work in 10.11... :(
     
  5. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #6
  6. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #7
    Terminal is not 2spooky4me... I'll try this tonight. Thanks!
     
  7. davidlv macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #8
    wOlf, could you clarify something? Your statement that "cDock also has an option to do this" implies that you have have cDock working running El Capitán DP1. Is that correct? I cannot stand the look of the standard Yosemite dock, and as you know the latest Developers and Public beta of 10.4 changed something that broke cDock (EasySimble if I am not mistaken). None of the posts (tickets on the Sourceforce cDock page) I have seen clarify that situation. I assume I am not the only one concerned about whether or not cDock will work in OS X 11, so while I realize you must be very busy, please do reply concerning this issue.
     
  8. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    No cDock themes don't work on 10.11 and I have no idea when/if they will be working.

    EasySIMBL is actually working on 10.11 but I'm not really certain how to get dock theming working again. From what I can tell the Dock app is now written in Swift (I can no longer use Class-dump to get the dock classes https://github.com/nygard/class-dump/issues/51). What that means for getting the bundle working again I'm not entirely sure of.

    That being said all the plist based stuff (basically everything but dock themes) works.
     
  9. davidlv, Jun 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015

    davidlv macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #10
    Thanks for the info!! Personally, I really hope you find a way around the difficulties involved as I dislike the way Apple has rendered the look of the dock in Yosemite and onwards.
    Considering that only a few will see this info here, you may want to post on the cDock HP to let your far bigger audience know the current situation.
    I for one really appreciate all of the hard work and excellent coding you have done so far!
     
  10. umzyi macrumors regular

    umzyi

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I have xtrafinder installed, which is partially working for me. I have only "folders on top" and "cut and paste" working for me. I personally don't need the rest of the options. I have it installed for 2 weeks now and it hasn't crashed since.

    However if you will select other options, it will crash and you won't be able to open xtrafinder until you delete finder.plist and reset it.
     
  11. KALLT, Jun 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015

    KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #12
    For those interested: in Finder itself, sorting by kind is connected to your sort order in Spotlight. Go to system preferences > Spotlight and move the folders category to the top (doesn't have to be all the way, just above the file types you typically see in Finder). I remember having to restart my Mac to activate the change, not sure whether that has changed. Then you need to open the View Options inspector in Finder (View > Show View Options) and pick Arrange by None and then Sort by Kind. Folders will now show up at the top.

    This is not a good solution, as the alphabetic index will be mostly gone. Consider two alternatives:
    1. Choose Arrange by Kind and Sort by Name instead. This will divide file types into Spotlight categories and it's typically straightforward to see your documents, depending on the sort order in Spotlight.
    2. Choose Arrange by Kind and Sort by Name and hide all the categories that you don't want to see in Spotlight preferences. All files belonging to a hidden category will be thrown together. The advantage is that you can achieve true folder/file separation with an alphabetic index. The downside is that Spotlight itself will no longer show the results of hidden categories.
    I am not sure why Apple has done it like that. A mystery of life. ;-)
     
  12. brilliantthings macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #13
  13. bmac89 macrumors 6502a

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #14
    I have tried installing Xtrafinder on El Capitan PB4 and it simply won't open the app. Looking at there facebook page it seems I'm not the only one. How did you get it working?
     
  14. navaira macrumors 68040

    navaira

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #15
    The new version of Xtrafinder stopped displaying the error message, but it doesn't seem to actually work on my machine.
     
  15. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
  16. umzyi macrumors regular

    umzyi

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Thank you for providing these terminal commands. I disabled the system protection and ran the terminal command and afterwards I enabled the system protection and it is still working. I am happy that I don't don't have instal Xtrafinder or total finder now.

    Just a quick question: Would you know by any chance how to enable cut and paste like xtrafinder and total finder has done by doing a terminal command?
     
  17. Shawzborne macrumors 6502a

    Shawzborne

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
  18. nlenkowski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    #19
    Right on. I just filed this feedback report:

    I switched to Mac from Windows four years ago. I love my Mac and I love OS X. I've recommended Macs to all my family members and friends. Still, despite this love... I still cannot get used to folders being mixed in with files when sorting by name in Finder. Now that SIP has removed the ability to run apps like TotalFinder there is no longer a work around. Please. Pretty please. Pretty please with a cherry on top... give us an option to list folders first when sorting by name. And, if it's not too much to ask, It'd be dandy if columns would resize dynamically in Columns view so I can actually see the full file names.

    Please don't make us jump through the hoops listed here, nor disable SIP...
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/totalfinder-replacement.1893337/

    Thank you.
     
  19. band-it macrumors newbie

    band-it

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    #20

    sorry but without disable system protection and ran those commands if you choose in Finder to sort files by kind Finder will do that.. don't understand what have change. finder already do that without change anything.. and after doing is exactly the same...
     
  20. Kornelis, Jan 24, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2016

    Kornelis macrumors member

    Kornelis

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NL
    #21
    The question was quick, but the answer not I'm afraid, but maybe it helps. I'm still adapting to living without TotalFinder. ;-)

    You can get copy and paste in the Finder by using keyboard shortcuts. CMD+C to start the copy and on the destination use CMD+ALT+V

    I'm also using the above mentioned hack to get Folders first, I'm used to it because I work 9-5 with wintel PC's at work. There was also another function of TotalFinder I missed, being able to copy the path of a folder or file. I now use some Automator services for that.
     
  21. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #22
    Right-click on a file/folder, then hold down the option key. There is now (in El Capitan) an option to copy the file path. Option + command + C also works.
     
  22. Kornelis macrumors member

    Kornelis

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NL
    #23
    I didn't know that, thanks. But with TotalFinder you could also choose other ways to write that path.

    /Users/kornelis/User Guides And Information.localized
    The Option + command + C way, you can't use that in Terminal, unless you put quotes around it.

    /Users/kornelis/User\ Guides\ And\ Information.localized
    This path you can use directly in Terminal, I'll admit dragging the folder to the Terminal will also help.
    But there are times I first like to built a command in TextEdit and then copy it to Terminal, or to make a Bash script without having problems because of incorrect quotes.

    MBK-FV:Users:kornelis:User Guides And Information.localized:
    And this notation is used in AppleScript.
     
  23. bladerunner2000 macrumors 68000

    bladerunner2000

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    #24
    The MAIN reason I used XtraFinder or TotalFinder was to be able to use cut/paste commands via keyboard. How the hell do Mac users keep letting Apple get away with all these idiotic restrictions when something as basic as cut/paste is needed?
     
  24. Ritsuka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #25
    You can cut & paste in Finder, but the paste is called "Move item here", cmd-alt-v. So you need to copy (cmd-c) and move (cmd-alt-v).
     

Share This Page