Totalled MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by CassandraAnne, Nov 10, 2009.

1. CassandraAnne macrumors newbie

So the other day I went to open my early 2008 15" MacBook Pro and it wouldn't turn on. The Apple logo wasn't lit, or the capslock key - the only sign of life was the front latch light. Did everything possible according to the troubleshooting tips I found here and on Apple's support page. Called Apple and after 40 minutes, they told me that the logic board was probably messed up stemming from the time a YEAR ago when I was walking home from work and my computer bag strap broke and it fell 2 feet. They said that the repairs would cost around $1300 plus shipping (there's no Apple store around me) plus $100 in labor fees. My Apple Care ended in March.

So this is really upsetting. I'm a web designer and I need my computer. I'm considering just getting a newer refurbished 13" MacBook Pro - it would be cheaper!

I was wondering if you guys knew if I would be able to extract my files and programs from the harddrive of the '08 MBP. If so, is it something I can have my computer whiz brother do or should I drive the 3 hours to an Apple store to have them do it?

Advice please!

2. pukifloyd macrumors 6502a

pukifloyd

take out the hard drive and sell this one on ebay for parts...atleast you will get some money...then buy the new ones...

sorry to hear about your loss:(

3. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

How did they know your computer fell? Was there drop damage?

4. CassandraAnne thread starter macrumors newbie

They asked and I told them. They would have seen the cosmetic damage done to the right hand side if I sent it in.

5. CassandraAnne thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks. I've been pretty bummed about it.

Do you know how I could extract the information on the old HD?

6. tri3limited macrumors 6502

Take out the HDD and buy an external case off of eBay - £3.99.

7. chrono1081 macrumors 604

chrono1081