Totally CRAZY idea but...

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Benedictus-x, Jun 25, 2007.

1. Benedictus-x macrumors member

Right as we all know Time Machine will be a feature in leopard.
    Time Machine will require another hard disk.
    For consumer products a second hard drive inside isn't viable.

How about apple was to make their own brand of external hard drive, free or in reduced priced when bought with every mac shipped with leopard. MacDisk or something.

Thoughts, please?

Cheers

2. animenick65 macrumors 6502

Would be nice but you have to remember that everyones storage needs are different so everyones backup needs are also different. I'm a photographer and as such I have a 500gb hard drive so apple would have to include one of those for it to be a benefit.

3. Jessy macrumors regular

Apple would overcharge like a beast for that. I could actually see this happening, but I would definitely avoid it like the plague. Disk enclosures are easy enough to do that you don't need an Apple one for it to be sexy, unlike the current tech in which Apple specializes. (I got what was the cheapest 500 GB external drive on the market, and it's a real looker and performer.)

However, I assume all non-tower Macs will be including either two flash-based drives or one standard magentic and one flash within a few years.

4. andiwm2003 macrumors 601

andiwm2003

why would apple compete in the hard drive market?

apple makes prorietary high end hardware where the margin of profit is high.

hard drives are non proprietory discount items in a extremly competitive market with low profit.

why waste resources on that when you can use your engineers to make a better $499 ipod?

5. Benedictus-x thread starter macrumors member

mm i'm thinking itl be like the current RAM, in that it'l come with a decent option (250 GB for example) included in price, but to go to 700 or 500 will cost far more than is needed. But Apple could suprise us!

6. PlaceofDis macrumors Core