Totally New, how do I connect to the internet

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Sir Peter, Dec 28, 2007.

1. Sir Peter macrumors newbie

I am totally new to apple at the G5 for 4 days now but I still can not connected to the internet.

I am in the UK so I use BT, I phoned them and they can not help me so I called the router people 'Netgear' but I was hold that long I have run out of mobile credit.

I looked on this site and I read that the NetGear DG834PN was one of the best router to get, so I got that one, I am not going to connect wirelessly just yet, I may use the wireless on the wifes work PC. So I get the thing out of the box, connect it all, ohone BT's head office in India to get my passwords etc and I just can not get the thing to work. I am totally new to Apple, so I really do not know where I should be looking, can anyone help or piont me in the right direction.

Pete

2. Mydel macrumors 6502a

Mydel

More details please. What is connected, how, what is not working etc. Are you hooked by ethernet cable to the box?....

3. MonksMac macrumors 6502a

MonksMac

I'm not sure if this would help but the easiest way to get to your internet settings is to goto System Preferences (should be in the dock or look in the Apple menu at the top of the screen) and then look in the "Network" preference pane and you can get information that should help you from there. But to be more thorough we need more info.:apple:

4. Sir Peter thread starter macrumors newbie

Mydel/ MonksMac

Thanks for the reply. I have connected the Netgear box to the computer via the eithernet cable.

This is the first thing that I have connected to the Apple since getting it apart from my external hard drive which showed up on the desktop, I was thinking that the Netgear Router would also show up once I plugged it in but it did not, so I am not sure if this is right or not.