Touch firmware

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Wayne s, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. Wayne s macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I am thinking about getting a Touch, does it come with the latest firmware or would I have to pay for it.

    Ta.
     
  2. Pgohlke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    Centerville, Ohio
    #2
    The second generation should come with the 2.0 firmware and when you plug it into iTunes it will ask you to download 2.2.1 (the latest firmware) for free.
     
  3. Wayne s thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Thanks, got a touch today and am replying to you on it now
     
  4. Wayne s thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Next question. Why does a 8 GB Touch only show up as 7 GB? Not 7.something but only 7. My free space is 5.85 but capacity shows as 7.
     
  5. Goodeye macrumors 6502a

    Goodeye

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #5
    That's because with the existing firmware/Operating system of the ipod touch your actual amount of free space equals that 7.x number.....
     
  6. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11a Safari/525.20)

    Goodeye is incorrect, partially. Some devices consider 1000mb to be 1gb, others consider it to be 1024mb. It's this difference that causes 8gb to appear as less when in iTunes - don't worry, it is technically 8gb.
     

Share This Page