Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!
  • Did you order new AirTags? We've opened a dedicated AirTags forum.

wilky76

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 9, 2013
Wigan
As i work in the building trade so my hands & fingers get ruffed up quite often.

Because of this reason I think Touch ID has a hard time trying to read my prints due to the cuts, ruffed up skin, scratches ect that can change on a daily basis.

I know 100% there is nothing wrong with the touch ID sensor on my 5S, as my girlfriend has no problem at all with it when she uses it, because she got nice soft hands. ;):D

It's got to the point now were i just turn it off and use the password instead as this is less hassle to me.

Anybody else that does manual work finding the touch ID sensor has the same problem when reading your prints.

Seandroid

macrumors regular
Mar 21, 2012
Canada
As i work in the building trade so my hands & fingers get ruffed up quite often.

Because of this reason I think Touch ID has a hard time trying to read my prints due to the cuts, ruffed up skin, scratches ect that can change on a daily basis.

I know 100% there is nothing wrong with the touch ID sensor on my 5S, as my girlfriend has no problem at all with it when she uses it, because she got nice soft hands. ;):D

It's got to the point now were i just turn it off and use the password instead as this is less hassle to me.

Anybody else that does manual work finding the touch ID sensor has the same problem when reading your prints.

Maybe try adding the same finger multiple times! That is one of the unfortunate problems of a finger print scanner yeah. Hmm.

Comment

Costino1

macrumors 6502a
Oct 1, 2012
I concur, register the same finger 2-3 times. It definitely helps.

Comment

PNutts

macrumors 601
Jul 24, 2008
Pacific Northwest, US