Touch ID to unlock mac

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Fireball Dragon, Nov 28, 2016.

  1. Fireball Dragon macrumors 6502a

    Fireball Dragon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chigwell, England
    #1
    I have my MacBook connected to an external display.

    When I return to my computer and press a button on my worlds keyboard, I am greeted with the log-in screen on the external display. however, there is no text-box field for my to input my password.

    As a result, I have to lift the lid on my MacBook and use Touch ID to unlock.

    If I disable the "use Touch ID to unlock MacBook" option from settings, it is fine.

    The thing is, sometimes I want to use my physical password, and sometimes Touch ID. Does anyone know how I can do this?
     
  2. New_Mac_Smell macrumors 65816

    New_Mac_Smell

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Location:
    UK / China
    #2
    I thought you could just start typing your password and it would come up with a text box and stuff?
     
  3. CalandUK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    #3
    Just click/double click the user icon and the box will appear for you to type your password, or just start typing your password as per previous post.
     
  4. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #4
    I think that's right. A couple of times I've forgotten about Touch ID and just typed my password automatically, even though there isn't a password box initially.
     
  5. Fireball Dragon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fireball Dragon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chigwell, England
    #5
    Ah, awesome, thanks!!

    I just typed my password as advised and it came up :)

    Before I was clicking my user icon and nothing was happening. Single and double clicks both not working....
     
  6. ManuCH macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #6
    By the way, if you click on the name below the user icon the text field also comes up.
     
  7. Fireball Dragon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fireball Dragon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chigwell, England
    #7
    I just tried that it it seems to work. Thank-you. Just not sure why the password input box doesn't come up when I click on my icon.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    You have to click about a quarter inch below the icon.
     
  9. Fireball Dragon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fireball Dragon

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chigwell, England
    #9
    Thanks mate. I swear I was going that before and it wasn't working... But seems to be okay now!!

    I also found out that the app DUET was causing some sleep-wake issues, too. Not sure if anyone is aware, so Ive uninstalled that for the time being, too.
     
  10. miamialley macrumors 68030

    miamialley

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    Thanks for the thread. I might have come across this problem soon.
     

Share This Page