Tourist buying MBP from NY?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by InsiderApps, Nov 25, 2010.

1. InsiderApps macrumors member

Hi there,

In February, I'll be in NYC and I was planning to buy a MBP while I'm over there as it's a fair amount cheaper compared to the UK.

I'm a student and I have an international-valid NUS discount card, which gives me about 15% off Apple products AFAIK (correct me if you know otherwise), but there was a few things that I have tried to research but have not found exact answers:

How much is sales tax for tourists? I've heard mixed things about this.. At the moment I'm assuming it's about 8.5%, but then I've been told that tourisms are exempt from a certain limit of tax, so if anybody does know, please tell me. :D

If I do have to pay sales tax, do I then have to declare the item in the airport and have to pay import tax, and if so, can I then get the sales tax back?

Just want to clarify these things.

Tom

2. gbredneck macrumors member

Just remember

When you bring it back into the UK you'll be over your personal allowance which was recently increased to £390.

If you declare it, you'll get stung for duty and VAT at the normal rate.

I recently took a trip to the US, to buy same item, but after speaking with HMCE it just wasnt worth the hassle and extra expense.

Rob

3. greenmountain macrumors newbie

US Tax Rebates

Generally speaking, the US does not offer lower or rebated taxes to tourists (the exception, I think, is Louisiana and even there it's only at certain stores). Whatever the sales tax is (and in NYC 8.5% sounds about right) everyone pays it - locals and foreigners alike. If this sounds odd, bear in mind that American sales taxes are local/state taxes - not national taxes like VAT in the UK or elsewhere in Europe.