Trade 2x4GB 1333 for 2x4GB 1066?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by calibrationx, May 23, 2012.

  1. calibrationx macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #1
    I bought two sticks of Kingston MB1333/4G for my 2010 Macbook Pro, but it doesn't boot with both sticks because it takes 1066.

    Was looking to see if anyone has a kit of 1066 they'd like to trade for a faster kit.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    I have two 1333 MHz 204-pin DDR3 SO-DIMM RAM modules in my 2009 MBP and don't have booting problems.
    Maybe the RAM is just dead? Can't you return it?

    And for trading here you need 250 posts and a 6 months membership.
     
  3. angrydog macrumors member

    angrydog

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    #3
    I do! I have 8Gb corsair that was used for less than a week (I upgraded to new Macbook Pro) that I was going to put up on ebay, I'll trade.


    EDIT:
    Btw can someone else chime in; shouldn't the RAM downclock to 1066?
     
  4. calibrationx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #4
    Sorry about that, I wasn't aware.

    And the 2010 7,1 models is really picky about the RAM, it will boot with one of the original 2gb 1066 sticks and one of the 4gb 1333 but not both of the 1333 sticks.

    There is a workaround, but it's a PITA.

    http://tylermilner.com/?p=342
     
  5. Astroboy907 macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #5
    Does it boot at all with just the 1 1333Mhz stick? Sounds like you have 1 bad RAM stick in the lot.
     
  6. calibrationx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #6
    Tried both sticks in combination with one of the original 2GB sticks, both work just fine. It's just when there are two 4gb 1333 sticks. When there is a 1066 stick present, the other stick will downclock to match it, but when there are two 1333 sticks, it just won't boot.

    The workaround is to flash one stick to be recognized as 1066 so that the other one will downclock, but that involves buying $22 software to do so. Otherwise, I would just flash it myself.
     

Share This Page