Traditional: iMac 27" vs Mac Pro 15"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ctruzzi, Apr 26, 2010.

1. ctruzzi macrumors newbie

Hello,
    I know the question has been asked often on these forums (found this forum through Google of that question) however my circumstances differ from all others.
    First, I graduated from a Uni at the end of last year and currently working as a Computer Engineer at a company in the same area as MS (muhaha). I have been a Windows user like most for my entire life until I joined this company where all the devs use Macs. I currently use a new 21.5" iMac at work which encompasses 40-45 hours of my day using SVN and GIT (personal) for projects. I have a 13" Dell XPS 1330 which was about as much as a new Mac Pro when I got it and still works well.
    My problem is that I have learned I love using Macs for software development and my job requires me to be on call every 6 or so weeks in-case of emergencies. I am looking at the 27" with 8gb of RAM and the 2.8GhZ processor (2,399) as well as the Mac Pro 15" 2199 with better display (2,349). Price isn't really a concern but I am unsure if getting a laptop is actually required even though I haven't used a Desktop for about 2 years because I love being able to move.
    Any suggestions, websites or thoughts would be of great help. Supposedly the iMac is due for an update and I don't require this now, so as well any thoughts as to when a new iMac will be released? Oh one last question: Is is easy to upgrade RAM in macbooks?

2. lssmit02 macrumors 6502

First, I don't think the iMac is due for an update any time soon (it was just updated fall, 2009). Second, the iMac appears to be appreciably faster than the MacBook Pro, at least according to MacWorld magazine. Here's a quote from their review of the MacBook Pro 15":

That's not to say it's not a great laptop, just that the current Core i5 and i7 iMacs are quite fast.

3. dmw007 macrumors G4

dmw007