Traffic has just gone live in the UK

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sparkyms, Sep 26, 2008.

  1. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #1
    I just went to get directions to a friends house and low and behold.. Traffic!

    For now it just seems like motorways, but it's at least a start!
     

    Attached Files:

    • -1.jpg
      -1.jpg
      File size:
      91.1 KB
      Views:
      36
  2. TwiceNightly macrumors 6502

    TwiceNightly

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #2
    So it has, thanks!!

    Anyone know what all the different colours mean? Is there a guide somewhere?
     
  3. anim8or macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #3
    Are you talking about google maps traffic or the app in the app store....?

    I still get traffic not available on google maps.
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=3870859&postcount=2

    The iPhone manual has a guide for it.

    But basically want you assume a traffic light system would mean.

    Press the curled bit in the bottom right corner and press "Show Traffic"
     
  5. TwiceNightly macrumors 6502

    TwiceNightly

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #5
    Thanks, all clear around here! :D
     

    Attached Files:

  6. smr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #6
    As posted in this thread, I spotted this last night. I haven't seen any earlier posts about this, so I imagine it was switched on late afternoon/early evening yesterday.

    It certainly makes the Maps app more useful - now I can quickly check the status of the M6 around Birmingham before getting caught in traffic! Lets hope it gets extended to major A roads as well soon.
     
  7. chimpboy74 macrumors 6502a

    chimpboy74

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    Not available in Fife

    oh well I have the Uk traffic app anyway which is pretty good
     
  8. ajthomason macrumors 6502

    #8
    There are some A-roads covered, but they don't seem to have any colour (red, amber green).

    It seems odd, but the attachment shows a couple of A roads around Poole. There are no motorways in Dorset, so it isn't one of those!
     

    Attached Files:

  9. sparkyms thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #9
    sorry dude didnt realise!! search only came up with threads about there being NO traffic.. :(
    well found then :p
     
  10. biker74 macrumors member

    biker74

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
  11. Rybold macrumors 6502a

    Rybold

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    California, USA
    #11
    This screenshot is VERY similar to what we have here in the United States. It's
    nice to know what roads are backed up, so I can drive an alternate route, or
    perhaps just wait and leave a half-hour later. Or, if I decide to drive the route anyway
    and someone is expecting me, I can tell them that traffic is slow and it is going to take me longer.
     

Share This Page