Transcend JetDrive 520 SSD upgrade not recognized on 2012 MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by yomacroni, Oct 15, 2017.

  1. yomacroni macrumors member

    yomacroni

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    #1
    I am trying to upgrade MBA SSD 120gb to a Transcend 240gb JetDrive 520 but when I use disk utility the external drive isn’t listed at all. I reseated the connection and tried both USB ports. Is there anything else I should try before returning it?
     
  2. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #2
    Have you tried connecting it internally to the MBA or externally to another Mac or Windows computer to see if the external drive is recognized?
     
  3. yomacroni thread starter macrumors member

    yomacroni

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    #3
    In Windows disk management I see the unallocated, ‘not initialized’ drive which I didn’t expect to. So it must be ok but how is Mac disk utility not seeing it? I have used external drives on the Mac air successfully previously.
     
  4. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #4
    External drives these days are not made for a particular operating system but rather formatted for use with an operating system.

    Using windows, format the drive as a single NTFS partition, connect it to the mba to see if it is recognised in finder.
     
  5. yomacroni thread starter macrumors member

    yomacroni

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    #5
    I need to initialize it first. MBR or GPT?
     
  6. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #6
    Initialise as MBR, create partition, add drive letter, format as NTFS.

    When you install macos, you'll need to erase with gpt/guid.
     
  7. yomacroni thread starter macrumors member

    yomacroni

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    #7
    That worked (after several inexplicable failures) and erased with MacOS extended (journaled). Why is APFS not available? Since it’s ssd shouldn’t that be available?
     
  8. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  9. yomacroni thread starter macrumors member

    yomacroni

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    #9
    Also, there is no scheme option so I can’t choose got/guid. Info shows ‘bootable’ no, ‘solid state’ no.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 16, 2017 ---
    I am using high Sierra and current internal ssd has been converted to apfs.
     
  10. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #10
    What version of disk utility is being used? I usually use either High Sierra or El Capitan.
     
  11. yomacroni thread starter macrumors member

    yomacroni

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    #11
    17.0 (1626) accessed via command-r during bootup.
     
  12. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #12
    Sorry, I'm not sure which version that would be since I have USB installers for El Capitan, Sierra, and High Sierra.

    When selecting erase on the whole drive, you can't select MBR or GPT?
     
  13. yomacroni thread starter macrumors member

    yomacroni

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    #13
    Ok, it worked when I change view from volumes to show all devices. Now I have it formatted as APFS. However, restore fails now. The error is:
    “The volume on device “/dev/disk0” is not of type Apple _HFS or Apple _UFS
    Could not validate source - device not configured.”

    The current internal ssd is formatted as APFS.
     
  14. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  15. yomacroni thread starter macrumors member

    yomacroni

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    #15
    The original 120gb internal ssd. It was converted to APFS after it was updated to high sierra.
     
  16. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #16
    Is the jet drive inside the MBA?

    Try a fresh install of HS onto the jetdrive and use the migration tool during the setup to restore apps and data.
     
  17. yomacroni thread starter macrumors member

    yomacroni

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    #17
    The jet drive is in an external enclosure outside the MBA. Is it possible to install HS to an external drive?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 16, 2017 ---
    Never mind, I see it now. Trying now.
     
  18. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #18
    Yes, you can install to and boot from an external drive, just like an internal drive. You just have to boot with the option key to select a boot drive.
     
  19. yomacroni thread starter macrumors member

    yomacroni

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    #19
    Well, that ended up working fine, thanks! Way more complicated than I thought it would be but it was a good experience to see how to restore and load MacOS etc.
     
  20. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Share This Page

19 October 15, 2017