Transcend memory for Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by osin, Jun 20, 2008.

  1. osin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
  2. macintosh tech macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #2
  3. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #3
    Yep- those are some ODD heatsinks. Plus- it says this is not a stock item from B&H and normally takes 3-7 days to arrive, so you can bet it is a custom order and not returnable item.

    Save the hassle and just order the right stuff from OWC like macintosh tech said and save some money too. Plus their lifetime advance replacement policy is golden and customer service is top notch! Plus with the saved money you can get overnight shipping at very reasonable rates from them.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/Mac-Pro-Memory
     
  4. ChemiosMurphy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Warminster, PA
    #4
  5. ThirteenXIII macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #5
    can you add those to the already existing stock ram?
    there were some conflicting reports saying sometimes it worked or you had to pull the stock ram out to use the 2gb pairs of that ram.
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
  7. ChemiosMurphy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Warminster, PA
    #7
    It works fine. I have the both Transcend 2 gig sticks in my upper riser and the two stock 1 gig sticks in the bottom.

    Solid Ram but make sure you get the 800MHZ Ram if you have an Early '08 model
     
  8. ThirteenXIII macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #8
    im buying ram for a macpro at our studio, its the first gen 2.66 model
    found this ram:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820208200


    should that work reliable with the 2.66 macpro? it currently has 4x512 sticks and we wanted to up it to 6gigs.

    thanks!
     
  9. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
  10. ThirteenXIII macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #10
    as in it will not be a problem mixing them with the already existing apple-stock memory?

    if so, PERFECT, gonna snatch some of this up asap! =)
     
  11. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #11
    It meets Apple's specs, and Apple uses memory from multiple vendors. :eek: ;)
     

Share This Page