Transfer files and content to new MB Air from PB G4

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by macdent, Nov 2, 2008.

  1. macdent macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #1
    Can someone give me a "recipe" for transferring files and apps from my PB G4 to my new Air. I am going to do the clean-up first, then sync what I can from Mobile Me but there are still some apps that will not sync - hoping just to be able to transfer them over to the Air simply!!
    Thanks for the help-
     
  2. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #2
    Does it have a standard USB connector? If so, just go to Best Buy and get a USB drive, copy them to it and transfer. I use a passport and it works fine.

    You can also do a migration if you wanted to, either going wireless (takes FOREVER) or using a USB to ethernet dongle and enet to enet.
     
  3. stevemoore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #3
    Time Machine

    Hi
    By far the quickest way is to do a time machine backup (if you have Leopard installed on the PB) to a USB drive, making sure that the size of the backup is less than the free space on the MacBook Air you're getting, and then use migration assistant, selecting the Time Machine Backup option.

    I've done this recently and it works very reliably, unfeasibly fast too.

    If this doesn't work, read the sticky threads at the top of this forum and then you'll need to transfer user account, apps and other information across using a USB drive or another Migration Assistant method.

    Good luck

    Steve
     
  4. sherthang macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #4
    Mobile Me sync

    does the sync mail accounts sync all of the messages with an account?
     
  5. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    Just use Migration Assistant. Takes about 12-14 hours. Do it overnight. Simplest, easiest way to go.
     
  6. slim31 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #6
    I had poor results using the migration assistant back in 2006 when I did it from my Powerbook G4 to a MacPro. Several of the apps were unstable and some system preferences just had strange behavior. Keep in mind this was a Tiger to Tiger migration.

    The whole experience migrating a PPC to Intel machine left me with having to just start over and reinstall the OS on the Intel. Fortunatly both machines had firewire so getting preference files, mail and docs was easy.

    If I were you I would just basic set up the Air then copy over ethernet the must have items, but do clean installs of any apps.

    Just my experiences with a similiar situation.
     
  7. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #7
    If we're trading anecdotes, my migration from an iBook G4 to an MBA went flawlessly. I don't like to install a lot of highly specialized utilities though -- just basic applications for word processing, image editing, etc.
     
  8. slim31 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #8
    Thats good to hear!

    When my MBA arrives next week I will definitely give it another go. Using Leopard this time on both machines.

    I have held off upgrading my portable G4 until now because it did what I need it to do most of the time.

    Thanks for giving me the confidence to try it again.
     
  9. sherthang macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #9
    Mail

    If the only thing i want from my other computer is the mail, contacts, bookmarks, icals is mobile me sync not better suited? That is everything i want and nothing i don't anyway. Wont migration assistant bring a lot of other stuff from my user folder also?
     
  10. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #10
    There are check box choices of what you'd like to migrate before you actually push the return key.
     
  11. iomatic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    #11
    specifically, can you just migrate a few items from App. Support? I mean, I understand you could just do this manually, but is this method supported?
     
  12. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #12
    Can't rightly say exactly what the choices are... I always migrate everything and delete what I don't need.
     
  13. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #13
    Migrating or Transferring VM Fusion

    Pardon me for asking, but I would like to transfer or Migrate only my VM Fusion w/xp to the MBA (if the damn thing ever ships.) Anyway, is there such an option? I would save about 3-4 hours after service packs and releases.

    Your thoughts are very much welcomed, and thank you in advance.
     
  14. epicycle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    #14
    I migrated 2 VMWare VM's to my MBA 2.0 this weekend and all I did was copy them and launch VMWare. It noticed that they had changed machines and it asked if I had copied or moved them. I answered copied and it took it from there. A few moments together after a VM restart and some XP device found balloons it was working fine.
     

Share This Page