Transfer from old macmini to new macmini

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Bavaria, Nov 4, 2017.

  1. Bavaria macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #1
    I am looking to download instructions on how to transfer every thing off my present Macmini
    to a new one I just purchased. I was in hope that the forums may have articles on the
    procedure
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    It would help if you told us:
    1. What year is the old Mini, and what year is the new one?
    2. Do they both have firewire?
    3. What OS on the old one, and what OS on the new one?
     
  3. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #3
  4. Bavaria thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #4
    --- Post Merged, Nov 5, 2017 ---
    --- Post Merged, Nov 5, 2017 ---
    --- Post Merged, Nov 5, 2017 ---
    --- Post Merged, Nov 5, 2017 ---
    I am having big trouble on how to reply.
    I thank you for the reply but I am a mac person but I think to answer your questions I have to take the top off the
    macmin, a bit too much for me. I have had this mac for around 7 to 8 years, the new one I just ordered from Amazon
    2.6GHzIntl corei5 8GM RAM MGEN2LL/A (Newest version) Hope this helps..
     
  5. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #5
    Why do you want to take the top off your macmin? What do you want to do?
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    You could try to connect the old one to the new one with an ethernet cable.
    Then use setup assistant to "migrate" data from the old one.

    How to do it:
    1. When new one comes, hook it up to your display. DON'T power it on yet
    2. Connect the old one to the new one with ethernet (I don't think a display is needed for what we're going to do, but I could be wrong)
    3. NOW press the power on button on the new one and begin setup
    4. Setup assistant will ask if you wish to migrate data from another Mac
    5. "Point the way" for setup assistant to the old one.
    6. Select the things you want to migrate (should be everything).
    7. Let setup assistant do its thing.
    8. When done, your new desktop should look pretty much like your old one did (because setup assistant did its job).

    Warning:
    Some of the apps from the old one may be too old to run on the new one.
    You may have to update them.
     

Share This Page

5 November 4, 2017