Transfer Macheist apps to new mac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by firstapple, Apr 5, 2008.

  1. firstapple macrumors 6502a

    firstapple

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #1
    Ok all,

    I am looking to purchase a MacBook pro, and sell my MacBook. However, I purchased the MacHeist bundle a few months back. Is there a way to transfer the apps onto my next mac, or am I better off selling the macbook with the apps?
     
  2. kfordham281 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #2
    Just re-download the apps again and install them on the new Mac. Don't forget to delete the apps from your old Mac before selling it.
     
  3. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #3
    I've found the Migration Assistant does a pretty good job transferring user data from one to another. May want to give that a shot.
     
  4. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #4
    i wnated to do this on my own mac, i wanted to do a clean install, but if i were to do this am i legally allowed to reuse the licenses they gave me?
     
  5. jackc macrumors 65816

    jackc

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #5
    Just keep the serial numbers and you can reinstall them wherever you want.
     
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    Personally, I would download all the apps now and store them offline (like on a DVD). The problem with some of the apps is that the license is only for special versions or are not transferable to upgraded versions and these may disappear from the download sites eventually. Also keep a copy of all your serials as well.
     
  7. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
  8. firstapple thread starter macrumors 6502a

    firstapple

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #8
    So if I uninstall the MacHeist applications off my current macbook, I can just reinstall them on a macbook pro and use the same registration/license codes?
     
  9. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #9
    yes, if you use teh same licxense and use teh same version you have a license for
     
  10. lovemac125 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #10
    We re-image macs every summer at the high school where I work. We use Migration Assistant or Carbon Copy Cloner depending on the user and have never lost any data.
     

Share This Page