Transfer Of Files From Mac To Pc

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by saladiro, Dec 10, 2007.

1. saladiro macrumors 6502a

saladiro

hi, I recently purchased a mac book pro (not arrived yet). I want to buy an external hard drive to move over my files (word,excel, music)

few questions
    1) is there a particular hard drive that you could recommend for a reasonable price?

2) how many Gigs should i get? I know the new OS, has this app "time machine" that does a one time back up, so I am not sure of how much space is enough, 30 40, 60 180 ect....)

3) i read something about possible having to format upon transfer, something to do with NTFS? not sure what this means? Is this necessary?

4) I was looking at this one, can any one tell me if its a good quality?
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=290188659337&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:US:1123

let me know if you cant copy and paste that like and I will re-try

tks
    (ps i am a 25 year veteran with a PC and, so this is gonna be my first experience w a mac, kindly go easy on me)

2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Welcome to Macs! :)

It's not the hard drive brand so much as the case brand that matters. You'll want something that supports macs, ideally. The cheapest and easiest solution is probably to get a larger powered 3.5" case as the hard disks are cheaper, faster and larger. Plus the fact it's powered means your MacBook Pro will be under less strain and it's more likely to work consistently and reliably.

Get as many as you can afford. I think 250GB drives are representing great value for their size at the moment.

You really have three options.

1. Format it on the Mac as HFS+ and then use MacDrive on all PCs that need access to the drive.
    2. Format it as NTFS and rely on Leopard's dodgy NTFS compatibility.