Transfer old MBP hard drive to new MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by neoben, Oct 16, 2008.

  1. neoben macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #1
    Howdy...

    I want to transfer my old 500GB HD from my old MBP to the new late-2008 I just picked up.

    I have the old on in a USB enclosure, and it boots my old MBP just fine.

    When I install it into the new MBP, however, the system just turns on and off over and over again (it boots fine with the store-installed HD). It turns on, chimes, and then restarts.

    Any thoughts as to how to get my 500GB HD to work on the new MBP? I had no trouble the last time I upgraded...

    Thanks!

    Ben
     
  2. SinkToTheBeat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #2
    You'll probably have to reformat and reinstall leopard with the disc that came with your new pro. The new computers have a newer build of leopard I believe, though I can't say for sure if this is the cause of the problem.
     
  3. rychencop macrumors 65816

    rychencop

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    http://www.northaugusta.net/
  4. aleksandra. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #4
    You can't boot the computer from the drive with install for different machine. If you want to transfer your data, it shouldn't be hard (just use it as external). Once you have the data on your new MBP's original drive, you can clone it to your old 500GB, then swap. If you don't care about the data on 500GB, you can also just swap and reinstall Leopard.
     
  5. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #5
    Format will be fine but you'll be having driver issues.

    Boot from the software install DVD that came with your new machine and do an archive and install, preserving users.
     
  6. neoben thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #6
    Poop... Seems to be the only way.... I was hoping for a '10-minute' upgrade (ie. swap HD, and you're done!)...

    -Ben
     
  7. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
  8. neoben thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #8
    Just finished...

    Wasn't too bad. A few serials didn't come over, and my Fusion XP state had crashed and had to be restored...

    Took around an hour for the install (2 mins to put the drive in, though... Yea!)

    -Ben
     
  9. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #9
    Migrate + Clone works as well

    You can do this without reformatting from scratch. See this thread.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=582046

    Cheers,
     

Share This Page