Transfer = Slowdown?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hntjohns, Nov 14, 2010.

?

How would you transfer?

  1. Migration Assistant

    2 vote(s)
    14.3%
  2. Time Machine Backup

    8 vote(s)
    57.1%
  3. Other Method

    4 vote(s)
    28.6%
  1. Hntjohns macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    #1
    So it seems that after a few months our computers, yes even our macs, slow down a bit.

    I just purchased a new macbook pro and am wondering on the best route to take as I transfer files from my old macbook to the new pro.

    I'ver read about doing it from a TimeMachine backup as well as just using the migration assistant. But, will moving my files slow down my new computer and make it act like an "old computer" since it will have basically all of the old files?

    What would you do?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Regardless of the method you choose, transferring files from one computer to another does not affect computer performance at all, unless you run out of disk space. I've been running on the same Mac for over 2 1/2 years and it still performs as well as day one.
     
  3. gothamm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #3
    Great thread. I am in the same position, and would love more insight on this.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    What more insight do you need? Your computer performance is not impacted by what you have stored on your hard drive. As long as you have sufficient space for paging needs, it doesn't matter.
     
  5. weenerdog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #5
    How much hard disk space would you recommend to leave free for the best performance?
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    10 to 20 %.
     
  7. aimbdd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    East Cost
    #7
    i Agree. The only reason it would slow down over time is because of junk people install ;)
     
  8. LikuidMetal macrumors regular

    LikuidMetal

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Location:
    Irving Texas
    #8
    2x
     
  9. miata macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, Earth
    #9
    Am I missing something here? Regardless of whether or not you use Time Machine don't you have to use Migration Assistant? At least that is what I remembered when I needed to recover from my last HDD crash. I ran migration assistant which asked me if I have a Time Machine backup, and then proceded to do the migration after a few more choices in the migration assistant.
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    No, you don't have to use either. There are many methods you can use. You can network and simply drag and drop files. Or you can use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone a drive and restore on another drive. There are many methods of transferring files from one computer to another. I've never used Time Machine or Migration Assistant, and I've transferred files between Macs and PCs for years without problems.
     
  11. miata macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, Earth
    #11
    I'm aware of the other methods and have used them all on occasion.

    I'm just not aware of a way to use Time Machine to create a new system without Migration Assistant. How does that work?
     
  12. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #12
    This?
     
  13. miata macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, Earth
    #13
    Cool. Didn't know abou this. Last time I needed to restore I did a clean install and then used the Migration Assistant to access my Time Machine backup.

    After that I started using CCC to make an exact bootable copy of my system that I can swap out in case of a failure.
     
  14. miata macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, Earth
    #14
    One more question here. Will this also work if you are upgrading to a new model MacBook Pro from an older model's Time Machine backup?
     
  15. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #15
    That depends on what system the TM backup contains and what the system on the new Mac is, as you can't install an older Mac OS X version than the one that came with the Mac (no 10.6.3 on a Mac, that came with 10.6.4).

    I haven't done that though, thus I'm not sure if it would work.

    Maybe this can help: Time Machine - Frequently Asked Questions
     
  16. miata macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, Earth
    #16
    I would make sure that I had the latest version, so that woud not be an issue. I didn't realize that that boot disk from systems that are two years apart would still work.
     
  17. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #17
    Where does this come from?

    If you meant the grey Restore DVDs with "boot disks", then they are model specific, thus you can't use a Restore DVD from a MacBook Pro 5,2 with a MacBook Pro 5,1 and vice versa.
     
  18. miata macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, Earth
    #18
    I was referring to the installed system disk. I didn't realize that such a boot disk (HDD) from an older system would be able to boot a 2 year later system. I assumed that a bunch of new drivers would be required even if I updated to the latest version from my old mac.
     

Share This Page