Transfering all files to external HD

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by sean barry, Aug 18, 2015.

  1. sean barry macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    Belding, MI
    #1
    I did a search came up with not much? I also don't know if this is the correct forum?


    I have a 2012 Mac mini I may have to sell. My question/s is/are how do I put all my data on an external HDD, reformat the minis 1TB 5400 HDD that came in the unit, Install a clean copy of Yosemite and sell it.

    And when I get another Mac load all my data into it. All of this being the safest possible way? Is it as straight forward as this sounds?

    Would I be able to also move my Applications this easy?

    I also have an external 480gb SSD with a clean install of Yosemite and Parallels 10 and Win 7 Home premium 64 bit. It does function as a startup disk.

    Would I be able to just plop that into the mini (to sell) or another mini when I buy one and use it for the system/startup drive?

    I have to sell this mini to pay bills. I can get by with an old windows laptop for the web browsing I do until I have my sh*t together again. Thanks.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Just get a USB external disk and do a Time Machine backup to that disk. Then when the new machine comes, during system setup you will be prompted to import your data. Follow that process and use the TM disk as the source for the import. That will move all your apps and data to the new machine.

    If that other drive has Yosemite on it, yes, you can just pop that into another Mini and run with it.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5189

    Follow this step by step to get the old machine ready to move out.
     
  3. sean barry thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    Belding, MI
    #3
    Thanks Weaselboy! (love the handle :D) I have a Time Machine backup HDD. I assume FireWire will work as well as USB?
    The Apple link you gave me is for Mavericks, I assume it is the same for Yosemite and I wouldn't think El Capitan would be different either? Looks simple and I have the stuff to do it. Thanks again oh great and wonderful Weaselboy!!!
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Yep... Firewire will work the same way and that process is the same for Yosemite.
     
  5. sean barry thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    Belding, MI

Share This Page