Transfering applications (without internet)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rafs32, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. rafs32 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #1
    Hi guys

    As I have no internet (see my previous thread), I was wondering how to install applications (software)? I have tried many different software installations.

    I get varying msgs from this file can not open in DOS. OR the driver is not supported.

    As a newbie to mac and crossing over from windows, what could I be doing wrong?

    cheers
     
  2. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #2
    It would really help if you explained what kinds of applicatons you were trying to install, your current system and operating system.

    You cannot install Windows applications on the Mac if that's what you are trying (.exe files). You need the Mac equivalent of those apps.
     
  3. rafs32 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #3
    Hi

    PC spec
    MAC MINI 2.0 CTO
    2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    1GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x512
    120GB Serial ATA drive
    SuperDrive 8x DL
    Mac OS X-GBR

    I am trying to install Samsung printer. Open Office. Microsoft word, Motorola Phone Tools, Canon Camera (as iphoto reduces the quality if a lot of my pics), as well as most importantly Arcor WLAN. (I have tried add a computer from an original user.

    Now I understand why it can not execute this as it is an exe file.
    Is there any way round this?
    Or could I install from the Arcor disk at all?

    Cheers!
     
  4. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #4
    I need to dig a little deeper. Which of those apps are .exe files/apps?

    There is no way 'around this'. You're trying to install Windows applications on a Macintosh Operating system.

    You need to check if the drivers and applications are made for mac. If they are, try to get a hold of them somehow. If not, you clearly should have investigated a little more before buying your mac.
    It's either that or installing Boot Camp and Windows on the Mini and using your apps from there.
     
  5. LouisBlack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Balham, London
    #5
    Mac applications are usually downloaded as a .DMG file which is a disk image. Once you mount that you will be given a file with an extension .App. If the applications you are installing aren't in this format, they probably won't work (with some exceptions like Office 2008 and Final Cut that have installers).

    What version of Office are trying to install? And what about iPhoto makes your pictures look worse? I use iPhoto for all my pictures and they look great.
     
  6. rafs32 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #6
    Appreciated

    hi Jiddick and Louis

    The problem was resolved by a simple password change for my router.

    As for office, neooffice was my solution. Just need to find a driver for my Samsung ML-1610 and my lexmark X2310. Then I am sorted.

    cheers for your help!
     

Share This Page