Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nghia Nguyen

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 11, 2010
California
I'm getting my new i5 Macbook Pro in a few days. Yup, very stoked. What I'm concerned right now is how to efficiently transfer the files from my current Macbook to the new MBP.

Understanding Time Machine would work very well, but since I've never tried it before, I don't know if it will save my license for Adobe Photoshop CS3 and iWork and a few more minor apps. I talked to an Apple employee at Best Buy, and he somehow couldn't tell me if it really works or not. He was just sure about documents, pictures, and whatnot - he had no idea about license and registration info, etc. That's my first concern.

My second one is: assuming Time Machine will work that way (as in it will save all of my licenses for Photoshop and everything else), is there anyway I can prevent some of my data from being transferred? Let me make it more clear: I have 50GB of unprocessed photos categorized into folders. When transferring to the new MBP, I only want a portion of it. Will there be an option for me to choose what to backup on Time Machine and what not to? If no, that means I have to manually remove them later. Is that right?

Aside from Time Machine, is there any other way that really works well on my scenario? Any input is warmly welcome. Thank you!

Jasoco

macrumors 6502
May 28, 2006
The BEST way is to connect the MacBook to the Pro via FireWire, use Target Disk Mode and use the Migration Assistant located in Utilities.

Second is the untrustworthy Time Machine. But it's your data.

Migration Assistant will preserve EVERYTHING. (Including PhotoShop key. No reregistration required) Time Machine will probably lose some stuff in the process. Get a FireWire 400 to 800 cable and take your pick of the first two. The Assistant will walk you through the process and do all the work for you.

jpow112