Transfering my data.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MRU, Jun 25, 2007.

  1. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    So my new macbook pro arrives tommorow. Normally I just fresh install everything, however I was wondering if the file transfering of data option when you first start up your mac, will take over my applications like CS3 from my current mbp to the new ?

    if not I won't waste my time.
     
  2. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #2
    I'm going to say no, but I could be wrong. I think its just everything in your home folder.
     
  3. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    That's what I suspected myself... just wanted to save myself a bit of time.

    Proably just use carbon copy cloner instead and transfer a direct image over the top of the new mbp.

    Hopefully this wont cause any hardware issues.
     
  4. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    you are wrong:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5

    Well 'll give it a go 2moro. If it don't work then I'll use CCC
     
  6. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #6
    this answered one question I had this week, but here's another:

    How do I move a TON of AOL Favorites to Safari Bookmarks?
    (I have an elderly friend who wants to get rid of AOL...)
     

Share This Page