Transferring 8GB .mov from MBP to PS3

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by marovingean, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. marovingean macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #1
    Hey.

    Just to start, I'm aware of the dozens of posts regarding this subject, and yes I have searched through many of them, however it is doubtless that I may have missed the fitting one, so link me to it as you see fit.

    Right.

    I have an 8GB 1080p .mov file on my MBP that I want to transfer onto my PS3. Obviously USB won't work (the whole FAT-32 issue) and I tried streaming via PS3 Media Server, but funnily enough 1080p via wireless isn't the best quality.
    1st question, I'm a fairly basic user, so change details with caution :p but unless anyone can run through with a fairly basic angle to stream wirelessly without any interference that's great.

    However, if not then I have tried connecting via Ethernet, hoping against all hope that I could use the PS3 as some form of external hard drive (pah) but this doesn't (seem to) work. After a bit of t'internet searching I tried making a mini network by editing the IP etc the same on the MBP and PS3 but this kept on throwing up the classic DNS error 80710102, and numerous searches (http://boardsus.playstation.com/playstation/board/message?message.uid=42264211 and a few others) kept on throwing up the same error. So, I'm stumped.

    Anyone got any idiot proof ideas, ideally using an Ethernet cable...?

    Cheers guys

    M
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Bet you could find a way to do it via FTP. I'm not saying it's possible just suggesting the idea.
     
  3. hacurio1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    #3
    Actually, I have found two ways of transferring such size files into the PS3 effective. Option 1 is burning the file into a Dual Layer DVD (The PS3 will recognize the DVD no problem and I believe they got up to 8.2BG in capacity). Option 2 is to buy yourself and 16GB+ thumb drive (Again, this is not a hard drive and the PS3 has no problem recognizing it). I have seen thumb drives up to 64GB now. Let me know how it works!

     
  4. marovingean thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #4
    @Gimmeslack12 Cheers, I'll do a bit of reading on the subject, about that.

    @hacurio1 I never thought of a DualLayer DVD, guess I never thought it'd work considering the movie is 1080p, but I'll give it a shot. As I said I tried the thumb drive and the PS3 didn't seem to recognise it (apparently because it only recognises FAT-32 type drives.

    Anyone else?

    M
     
  5. mrchristianq macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #5
    I have done it using PS3 Media server. Instead of streaming the file, try hitting Triangle and choosing copy to copy the file over to the PS3.
     
  6. hacurio1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    #6
    I use a 16GB Sandisk drive (U3 Cruzer Micro). Given, I did reformat it in my PC before I even begun, but the PS3 has no problem seeing it and coping the files (The mac wont have a problem either). Actually, I have found that it is the most common and easy way of getting files into the PS3 due to the 8GB limitation of Dual layer disks.

    Ohh, also make sure your thumb drive does not have a partition where it stores its proprietary software in it (If any). And make sure it’s not locked or it's PW protected. And Finally, Try restarting your PS3 with the thumbdrive already plugged in. Sometimes USB devices don't auto-detect and you need to restart.

     
  7. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #7
    I think you are mistaken. PS3 can only access external USB storage formatted to FAT format (either 12-, 16-, or 32-bit), which is limited to around 4 GB in maximum file size.

    That said, PS3 uses one of the Linux file storage formats (many suspect it as a variation of ext2), which can support files larger than 4 GB. Copying such files over the network (using green triangle option) is one of the workarounds.
     
  8. Donar macrumors 6502

    Donar

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Install a streaming server (PS3 Media Server/Medialink/Playback...) and try if it works. Stream or try to copy from your Computer.

    I have no idiot proof ideas - only some questions.
    How did you connect your MBP and PS3? Through a router, switch or cross cable?

    What were your Settings for:
    IP Address, Subnet Mask and DNS on your MBP and PS3?

    and/or did you use DHCP?
     
  9. hacurio1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    #9
    I stand corrected. For some reason I thought my drive was 16GB, but it is only 4GB. Never transferred files over the network, so I guess Nutmac will be a better resource there. GL


     
  10. marovingean thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #10
    MBP:
    IP: 192.168.1.65
    Subnet: 255.255.255.0
    DNS: 192.168.1.254

    PS3:
    IP: 192.168.0.2
    Subnet: 255.255.255.0
    DNS: 208.67.222.222

    PS3 doesn't currently use DHCP as I kept it with the more basic settings.

    After some searching I was told to use the same IP etc on the ps3 through manual settings in order to create a wired network using the Ethernet, but it kept on throwing up the classic error 80710102 which freaked me out. I assume theres a way of making a wired network using ethernet, I'm just too simple to get it working :p

    Cheers guys :)

    M
     
  11. Donar macrumors 6502

    Donar

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    Having exactly the same IP Address e.g. 192.168.1.65 on two different devices in the same network is a big mistake. Never ever do it.

    IIRC you placed your devices in different subnets this usually does not work if you have just a basic router or crossover cable.

    Subnet: 255.255.255.0 tells your computer that you want to have a network where devices (hosts) in the same subnet use the last octet .0

    Leave the settings for your MBP as they are quoted above.
    I assume that 192.168.1.254 is the IP address of your Router, right?

    You can try the following:
    1. Connect the PS3 to your Router via Ethernet and set it to DHCP, does it work out of the box? Normally the easiest way.

    If this does not work try these manual settings on your PS3 (connected to the Router):

    PS3:
    IP: 192.168.1.66
    Subnet: 255.255.255.0
    DNS: 192.168.1.254

    you can also try:
    DNS: 208.67.222.222 (some "opendns" according to whois). If you do not want to connect to the internet with your PS3 you do not necessarily need DNS. As your computer only needs it for domain name to IP translations.

    And by the way set the same "default gateway" in MBP and PS3, i forgot to ask the value(s) you had for this.

    If you are not sure that your MBP "sees" the PS3 open a terminal write:
    Code:
    ping 192.168.1.66
    and press enter. If all worked correctly you will see the PS3 replying.

    Done!?

    If you want to use a crossover cable between both devices:
    1.Remember that the Ethernet Ports of the PS3 and MBP have to be in the same subnet.
    2. DNS will not work as long as you do not enable Network sharing on the MBP.
    3. I think! Do not use the same network (subnet) for connecting PS3 to MBP and MBP to WiFi. Maybe depends on the actual implementation of network sharing.
     
  12. overcast macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #12
    No, a subnet mask is used to determine which subnet an IP address is assigned to, and to take the appropriate action. If they are on the same subnet then the source machine sends an ARP request for the MAC address of the destination machine on the same subnetwork. They communication opens and voila. If they are NOT on the same subnet, the packet is then relayed to a router or is undeliverable.
     
  13. Donar macrumors 6502

    Donar

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #13
    Overcast, very good explanation. :) I tried to keep it simple and maybe are guilty of keeping it too simple (and/or using the wrong terms).

    So on a "normal" consumer DSL Router which from my experience does not know how to handle different subnets on it's ethernet ports you won't be happy with one machine having 192.168.0.x and one with 192.168.1.x and a SubnetMask of 255.255.255.0 each. Agree?
     
  14. dont24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    Northeast
    #14
    I've also done this same thing with MediaLink.
     
  15. marovingean thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #15
    You guys are great. Not able to try it at the moment, but I'll use those settings (from Donar) and then let you guys know.

    Cheers folks :cool:

    M
     
  16. CowboyTurbo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Location:
    Beantown, MA
    #16
    Bump, looking for a solution for the same issue...

    Anybody use Mediaserver? How long would it take to copy an 8 GB file from the MB to the PS3?
     
  17. mkjj macrumors 6502a

    mkjj

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #17
    Iv'e got the original PS3 and transfer stuff via the very handy flash card slots! :D

    Big mistake losing them.
     
  18. CowboyTurbo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Location:
    Beantown, MA
    #18
    Downloaded MediaServer, currently 20 min., 18% complete into copying a 10 gig file over.

    It is not fast.
     

Share This Page