Transferring data from an iBook to a MacBook

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Spanky Deluxe, Jun 10, 2007.

  1. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Ok, if all goes to plan, I'll have finished fixing up a MacBook for my girlfriend. The last missing piece is the replacement display which I'm *hoping* I'll be able to pick up from the depot tomorrow. I've already installed OS X on the MacBook, iLife, iWork, Microsoft Office, Boot Camp and its all updated.

    However, how do I quickly transfer over things like her iTunes and iPhoto library? I'll probably hook the iBook up in target disk mode and then copy over all the desktop and documents stuff. Its the things that are inside iPhoto and iTunes that I want to make sure transfer ok.

    What's the best way for me to go about this? I want to get it done as quickly as possible because I want to try to get it all done while she's at work and disassembling the MacBook and installing the new display will take a little while.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Drag and drop...

    ~/Music/iTunes
    ~/Pictures/iPhoto Library
     
  3. Spanky Deluxe thread starter macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    How excellent! :)
     
  4. superleccy macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #4
    Is this better than using Migration Assistant.app?

    When I get my SR MBP (hopefully this month) I will need to do the same.

    Cheers
    SL
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Migration Assistant does the same thing but it also goes beyond your user directory and does applications.

    Your millage may vary.
     
  6. Spanky Deluxe thread starter macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    I've heard Migration Assistant isn't always successful when switching from a PPC machine to an Intel machine, hence why I'd rather be in control over what gets copied over and what doesn't. :)
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    I'd prefer to do it myself as well. I have nothing against Migration Assistant. I've had it work 100% on the Macs I've used it on.
     

Share This Page