Transferring from iMac to used MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by KRIZEANS, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. KRIZEANS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #1
    I'm selling my iMac for a used MacBook Pro. The MacBook Pro I bought still hasn't arrived and I need to send off the iMac. The MacBook Pro is coming preloaded with some great software such as Final Cut Pro, reason, logic. So, I don't want the new computer to act like my old iMac but a there is some software and photos that I want to transfer obviously. What is the best way to do this? Migration Assitant or Time Machine? Or back up everything on external HD?
     
  2. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    I'd probably back up everything from your iMac onto an external HD. You could then load the HD and copy files and stuff that you need from it onto the MacBook Pro.

    I'm not really experienced in the "backing up" field regarding Macs, so that's just my two cents.
     
  3. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    If I bought a used computer I'd reformat the HDD first. Unless that's all pirated software it should be easy to reinstall it.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Just backup the existing computer with Time Machine then use that TM backup with Migration Assistant on the new computer to bring in all your data. It will not wipe existing apps on the new machine.
     
  5. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #5
    Same here. I agree.
     
  6. KRIZEANS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #6
    The software on the MacBook Pro I'm getting is licensed but already installed. I'm not getting the discs.
     
  7. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    As long as you have the license's you should be able to reinstall it. You'll have to figure out where to get the install files.

    A used OS could contain key loggers and other crap, could be a mess who knows what the original seller did. Always reinstall the OS on a used computer.
     
  8. KRIZEANS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #8
    Any idea where I would find the install files? This is assuming I don't get the discs
     
  9. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #9
    Final Cut Pro and Logic Pro are available on the Apple App Store.

    You'll need his iTunes account name and password to re-install or even update them. I don't think iTunes accounts are transferrable or combinable.
     
  10. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #10
    Discs? For SOFTWARE? That's a crazy world you're living in...
     

Share This Page