Transferring Pre-Installed Windows to Virtual Machine

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by i.shaun, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Has anyone attempted something like this?

    I have Parallels desktop to run virtual machines, but I don't have a copy of XP on CD or DVD because it was pre-installed on my laptop.

    I tried following this article on creating a bootable disc from a OEM Version of XP Pro.


    Unfortunately it won't run when attempting to open it in the virtual machine. It stops and says "Missing or corrupt INF file txtsetup.sif"



    Anyone know a way to fix this, if possible?
     
  2. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Have you tried Parallels transporter? I haven't used it but conversion from physical to virtual is a feature of both VMWare and Parallels.
     
  3. i.shaun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    It still requires a Windows XP Install CD/DVD to use the transporter. I thought the transporter would copy the entire installation over by the way it was advertised, but all it appears to do is act as a file & settings transfer wizard to give you your files, account, network settings, maybe even installed applications -- but the XP Install disc must still be in the drive.



    Unfortunately, this laptop computer came with it pre-installed, and only has a Recovery DVD which I had to create with ACER tools (from the laptop). The recovery DVD has the entire XP installation but it seems to be protected. I can't get it to install in Parallels, hence the attempt at making a bootable XP DVD.
     
  4. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    That's bad - I thought Transporter created a Parallels VM in the same way as VMWare's P2V and Converter tools.
     
  5. i.shaun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    So VMware has the ability to clone an entire XP installation from a pre-installed OEM system without any discs?


    You would think Parallels could do so. . I even tried letting it go without having a disc, and it would gather data over the network, and suddenly stop saying there was a power surge or loss of network connection. I thought the laptop went to sleep but when I went to check, it was still on.
     
  6. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Yes VM fusion can clone entire pre-installed windows systems without any disks. There are video guides on there website to show you how to do it and it looks very easy.
     
  7. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Indeed - I use the enterprise version of Converter to migrate servers from physical machines on to VMware 3.5 and they use the same technology in their Workstation and Fusion products.
     
  8. Dushybushy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009

Share This Page