Resolved Transferring Time Machine to another Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by furcalchick, Sep 24, 2015.

  1. furcalchick macrumors 68020

    furcalchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Location:
    South Florida
    #1
    I have a 350 GB hard drive that I use as a Time Machine backup, and have for the past few years. Recently, I upgraded my computer to a 2013 MBP from an aging 2006 MB, and with the upgrade, came an increase of hard drive space, from the 80 GB to 500 GB. Which meant eventually, my data wasn’t going to support the new space. So I purchased a 1 TB hard drive to use as a new Time Machine drive.

    I decided to copy over the data of the current Time Machine to the new 1 TB external (which took an entire day). During the transfer, I got a few messages that said “this file could not be copied”, and lost about 3 GB of data compared to the old hard drive. The current Time Machine hard drive is in tact.

    Now I’m at a crossroads. Did I do something wrong with the Time Machine copying data and try again with another method, or scrap it and either inherit the backup on the older hard drive or start a new backup on the new hard drive? Thanks for the answers in advance.
     
  2. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #2
    You had better luck than me. I followed Apple's instructions on how to transfer my Time Machine backups to a new and larger hard drive but never could get it to work right. I wound up instead keeping the original drive and started making new backups on the larger drive. It meant I had to keep two Time Machine hard drives handy in case I needed to restore from the original drive. I also clone my hard drive using Carbon Copy Cloner, just in case.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Assuming you formatted the new drive to Mac OS Extended then dragged the backups.backupdb file over, then you did nothing wrong and it is difficult to say what went badly. But I for sure would not trust that backup now. I would erase the new drive and start with a fresh TM backup set.
     
  4. furcalchick thread starter macrumors 68020

    furcalchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Location:
    South Florida
    #4
    There's about a 1.2 GB difference between the new and old drives, and several files were unable to be copied. The popup "The operation can’t be completed because one or more required items can’t be found.(Error code -43)" appeared several times, but I can't tell what exactly got eaten in the transfer.
     
  5. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    All I can really add is that I've managed to do this successfully in the past, but it doesn't always work.

    My bigger view though is "so what". Start a new backup. Keep the old backup just in case, although realistically how likely are you to need to go back so far? I consider a year of backups more than enough . . . indeed, even a couple weeks is sufficient.
     
  6. furcalchick thread starter macrumors 68020

    furcalchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Location:
    South Florida
    #6
    Thanks for the tips guys! Decided to just make a new backup on the new hard drive and have the old Time Machine HD as an archive.
     
  7. macs4nw macrumors 601

    macs4nw

    #7
    The right thing to do. Keep in mind you may run into the same "this file could not be copied" situation when doing the new back-up directly from your old 2006 machine, since those possibly corrupted (or incompatible) files could very well already have existed on your old computer and subsequently made it onto your previous 350GB (TimeCapsule) HDD.

    Just curious, how did you copy that 350GB of data onto your new 1TB HDD to make that take an entire day?
     

Share This Page