Transferring Unlimited Plan Temporarily

Discussion in 'iPad' started by MJedi, Apr 13, 2012.

  1. MJedi macrumors 6502a

    MJedi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #1
    So I decided to try out an AT&T LTE iPad so I can test the speeds and coverage for myself. However, it seems I need to use the SIM that came with the new iPad. Putting the SIM from the iPad 2 results in a message saying the device requires an AT&T LTE SIM.

    A search of the forum brings up the new feature of easily transferring the data plan to the new iPad by logging in with your current AT&T iPad account. Great! But now this has me wondering. If I don't keep the new AT&T iPad, can I transfer the account back to the iPad 2 using the same method? Or can I change the IMEI and ICCID from the att.com/ipadlanding site to reflect the iPad 2 settings? I don't want to mess this up.

    Thanks.
     
  2. aa521490 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
  3. DroidRules macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #3
    It's my understanding if you change your plan you're FUBAR. Start a new data plan with the iP3 and cancel it if you don't like it. IF you need unlimited don't change your plan from your iP2.

    I guess this is what you're looking for.
     
  4. dstar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #4
    Logon to the cellular settings of the iPad 3 and transfer your account over to that SIM/Device.

    When you are done testing, logon to the cellular settings in the original iPad and transfer the account back over.

    I did exactly this and had no problems at all.
     
  5. Dkorda macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #5
    Same here, now I have unlimited LTE with AT&T.
     
  6. GraphicsGeek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #6
    This. I've done it too.
     

Share This Page