transferring "Voice Memo" files

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by zoran, Nov 24, 2016.

Tags:
  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    How can i transfer VoiceMemo files/recordings to my iMac from my iPhone?
     
  2. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #2
    Plug it into iTunes, sync, and they'll show up under Music in a playlist called Voice Memos.
     
  3. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #3
    Suppose i don't want to sync, can i still locate them?
     
  4. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #4
    You'd have to use a third-party app like PhoneView, iAmazing, etc. To do it from the phone, you'd use the share sheet and send it via AirDrop, iCloud Drive, Dropbox, etc.
     
  5. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    Dont have any of these... what do i do? The files are larger than 25mb and i can't send them through Yahoo mail.
     
  6. Jessica Lares, Nov 24, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2016

    Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #6
    Download Documents 5 by Readdle - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/documents-5-file-manager-pdf/id364901807?mt=8

    Import to it using the share sheet, then in Documents 5, turn on the Wi-Fi Drive and type the IP on a web browser in the Mac (It's going to ask about connecting to DAV, just hit OK). Do a right-click and Download Linked file.

    It'll show up in the iTunes File Sharing section too otherwise.
     
  7. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #7
    Jessica, i dont understand how to import voice memo files to Documents5, i dont see the option in Share!
     
  8. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #8
    Share with iOS Notes...open in macOS Notes.
     
  9. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #9
    Ok i saved an iOS Note file, but how do i open it in "macOS Notes"?
     
  10. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #10
    The notes would need to be synced via an iCloud account.
     
  11. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #11
    I dont want to use any kind of sync procedures. Isnt there a away to get the file using the lightning cable?
     
  12. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #12
    Well, you could email them if they’re not too large. But you would have to SYNC an email account with your iPhone…and have your iPhone connected to either a wifi network or cellular network.
     
  13. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #13
    I do not want by any means to receive them by making any transfer using the internet. Isn't it possible to do it the old fashioned way through a cable?
     
  14. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #14
    Not that I know of. I believe it's a security issue. Apple has provided Mac/iOS users simple and easy ways to transfer files via methods discussed above and the documentation of how to use them.

    There are relatively expensive USB/Lightning flash drives that may be able to access voice memos. I'll leave the research up to you.

    With cordless charging and iCloud backup already a reality it will not be long before there's an iPhone that won't have a lightning or any other kind of cable connection.
     
  15. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #15
    Thanks for the explanations Brian. I have some voice memo files that are personal and i don't want to put anything online for security reasons, that is why i only want to transfer via cable.
     

Share This Page