Transit Directions in Public Beta

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Bbqthis, Jul 9, 2015.

  1. Bbqthis macrumors 6502a

    Bbqthis

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #1
    Are they working in the public beta? I installed iOS 9 on my 4S and I cannot seem to figure out how to get them going...I live in the SF Bay Area...
     
  2. sir42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    NY, NY
    #2
    I'm also not seeing transit directions on my iPad mini. Perhaps you need a 64 bit chip?
     
  3. zOne31 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    #3
    Don't think so. I'm not getting transit directions on my MBA or iPhone 5s. Maybe it's just not ready yet?
     
  4. dwman macrumors 6502

    dwman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    I'm in the same boat. The previews from CNET and Engadget show them working, but I tried it on my very ancient iPad 2 and was prompted to download transit apps. Maybe my hardware is simply too old, but that would be strange to not include transit directions.
     
  5. Bbqthis thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Bbqthis

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #5
    Well that's frustrating...it's about the only worthwhile feature that's supposed to work on the 4S!
     
  6. Blujelly macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #6
    Probable U.S only or they haven't put it on the update, at a guess
     
  7. Bbqthis thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Bbqthis

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #7
    Well I do live in the U.S. Not sure where you thought the San Francisco Bay Area was...

    Next beta then maybe?
     
  8. Blujelly macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #8
    just skimmed the thread didn't actually read it all, but at a guess either a bug or next update
     
  9. soy macrumors member

    soy

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #9
    Working on iPhone 5 in NYC, so either they haven't added it to the 4S yet, or they haven't flipped the switch on the Bay Area yet.
     
  10. theskibo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #10
    They are working for me, but slow. iPhone 5s in San Jose. VTA, BART, caltrain showing up. I go to the Apple Maps app, type the address, and chose the transit button next to the Drive and walk button.
     
  11. Bbqthis thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Bbqthis

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #11
    Hmmm maybe it's a 32bit thing. Really don't want to put it on my 5s though...
     
  12. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #12
    It's not, it's an A5 chip thing, the 32-bit iPhone 5 does get it. I see no reason the 4s wouldn't work with it but who knows?
     
  13. Bbqthis thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Bbqthis

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #13
    Interesting. I cannot find any literature saying that A5 devices wouldn't get transit directions...Even though it doesn't matter to me (my daily driver is a 5s) I do hope that the 4S gets transit directions.
     
  14. amirite macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #14
    Only Chicago and NYC seem to have it on my 6. I'm sure other areas will have it at launch
     
  15. zOne31 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    #15
    I live in Chicago. Not getting it on either my MBA or iPhone 5s. Hmm.
     

Share This Page