Transmission, torrent download app

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by gokuu, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. gokuu macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #1
    Does anyone know how to set the app preferences so that it downloads better(faster)? Any help will be awesome...
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    It mostly depends on the health of the torrent.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    The more seeders you have, the faster your download is.

    Of course you do need a fairly fast connection as well.
     
  4. nored02 macrumors newbie

    nored02

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Nebraska
    #4
    Like the person above said, torrent speed depends on health, but if you have multiple torrents running you can increase the priority by opening the inspector in transmission and click on the options tab.
     
  5. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #5
    Make sure the port is being forwarded properly - it will show a green dot next to the port in the preferences.
     
  6. gokuu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #6
    Well thats the thing is that I cannot get the green dot next to the prot. Its red....I have a 2wire 1000HW router...its att dsl...its pretty fast but I know that with that dot not being red is slower....any help would be awesome...
     
  7. jbuk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #7
  8. gokuu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #8
    JBUK....Thanks alot ...that did the trick....Much appreciated for the link



    Again thanks
     
  9. Jason Beck macrumors 68000

    Jason Beck

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Cedar City, Utah
    #9
    I <3 Transmission. You don't have to really do much aside from making sure your port is open. App works hella good!
     
  10. bware189 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #10
    I know that this thread is quite done, but I tried everything in the walkthrough and still all ports are closed. Same, set up (2wire) using transmission. Again, sorry to bring up an old thread.
     
  11. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
  12. alienapp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #12
    or you may need to open the ports on your router if you use one.
     
  13. blake836 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    #13
    Try Utorrent I have never had any problems with it.
     
  14. bware189 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #14
    Yeah. Figured it out. The router was blocking all my ports. Just had to do some fanagling to iron it all out. Thanks much guys.
     

Share This Page