Travelling to Korea/Japan

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kinetik, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. kinetik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #1
    Dig the new iPhone, it's rad. I'm new to AT&T though, and I *think* it's possible to take the iPhone over to Korea and/or Japan and just turn it on.

    Is that true? Has anyone travelled internationally with their iPhone yet?
     
  2. pr5owner macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #2
    if you want to pay through the nose for roaming fees, sure....

    it should work however, its *quadband*

    my japanese phone is quadband as well and it works in canada and the US
     
  3. fchyan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #3
    No, they use UMTS(SoftBank) and CDMA in Japan, iPhone is GSM. Many UMTS phones also support GSM, but that does not mean GSM phone supports UMTS(3G).
     
  4. Nall macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    #4
    I would check with Cingular/AT&T about coverage there. Last time I went there, I was told there was no coverage (and I did try to use my phone to no avail.)

    Apparently, unlike most everybody else on the planet, Japan does not use GSM.
     
  5. Akira1980 macrumors 6502

    Akira1980

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego
    #5
    I am in Japan right now and phone does not work. But you can use wifi if you are near hotspot. So you can use everything except making a phone call.
     
  6. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #6
    Japan has its own cell network. Only phones from Japan will work there.
     
  7. ruutiveijari macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Location:
    Hellsinki
    #7
    UMTS and CDMA phones work in Japan as long as your operator has a roaming contract there. The phone doesn't need to be Japanese.

    I used my brothers Nokia N70 just fine last summer in Tokyo.
     

Share This Page